1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: My Wifi See it but wont connect to it...?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ThorToWage, Dec 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ThorToWage

    ThorToWage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    I'm having problems connecting to a new modem I got from AT&T (AT&T7550). It was a replacement because I had the another one from them to long. However, I'm have problems getting on my network and I had no problems get to two desktop, a tablet, IPad and 2 PSP. But for some reason my laptop XPS M140 is having problems connecting. The first thing I did was to up-date the drives from the dell website, then I uninstalled them 2x, even tho the hardware was saying it was fine. ...Then I have switch from the Intel wifi manager and back to windows wifi manager and then I removed all the info in the change preferred networks. The I took the card out and reinstalled it back in my laptop. But it keeps stating "Windows is unable to connect to the selected network. The network may no longer be in range. Please refresh the list of availble networks and try to connect again." Now I did what they asked and the funny thing is that when it wont connect the wifi light will go out on its own without me turning it off myself manually. Now I think I may need to replace my wifi card, however, in the device Manager for the network has no problems. Oh by the way I can connect to the internet using my ethernet cable with no problems.
    I hope I'm making sense with all this?

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Reply from 72.152.248.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 72.152.248.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 72.152.248.1: Destination net unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale>


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 72.152.248.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 72.152.248.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 72.152.248.1: Destination net unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Reply from 72.152.248.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 72.152.248.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 72.152.248.1: Destination net unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale>

    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [74.125.159.105] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 74.125.159.105: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=51
    Reply from 74.125.159.105: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=51
    Reply from 74.125.159.105: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=51
    Reply from 74.125.159.105: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 74.125.159.105:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 9ms, Maximum = 11ms, Average = 9ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : SpiritManProd
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-22-A0-05-88
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.95
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 6:55:33 A
    M
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 6:55:33
    AM

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-CE-52-D6-FD

    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale>
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it maybe the Dell and Windows wireless Utility are competing

    do you know if you have the windows zero configuration WZC and also a DELL wireless utility running

    lets see an xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. ThorToWage

    ThorToWage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Here is that info from that wifi software.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    well you can see the wireless OK - so the adapter is not off
    what are you using now -?

    try safe mode with networking - sometimes wireless works in this configuration - so it will only help if it works , and showing that in normal mode something is stopping
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    does it work on other networks - like cafes , hotspots etc
     
  5. ThorToWage

    ThorToWage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Currently, I'm using ethernet cable and the Intel ProSet Wireless and window do shut off when I use one or the other.
     
  6. ThorToWage

    ThorToWage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    As far as the windows zero configuration WZC was on start and I didnt found DELL wireless utility usless your refering to the Intel ProSet Wireless info. which I did found and jus turned it off.
     
  7. ThorToWage

    ThorToWage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    I also went in safe mode network and it wouldnt work either. I dont know what the deal is but to replace the WiFi card.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
  9. ThorToWage

    ThorToWage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    etaf, I did go into the services and turn off the WZC and still I'm getting the "Windows is unable to connect to the selected network. The network may no longer be in range. Please refresh the list of availble networks and try to connect again." This issue is kickin myazz. I've cleared out all of the old info. What is there to do next?
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what wireless signal from the list shown in xirrus are you trying to connect to ?
     
  11. ThorToWage

    ThorToWage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Att5866...
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try a tcp/ip reset and post back the results

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. ThorToWage

    ThorToWage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale> netsh int ip reset reset.log

    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale>


    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale> netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the machine in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Documents and Settings\MHale>

    It still states, "Windows is unable to connect to the selected network. The network may no longer be in range. Please refresh the list of availble networks and try to connect again."
     
  14. ThorToWage

    ThorToWage Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    I see u jus give up on me...its cool...Hotep!
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no - still researching some alternatives , but as volunteers here can take a while to reply to some posts
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029930

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice