1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: My wireless computer is stuck on "acquiring network address"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by RRaskolnikov, Feb 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RRaskolnikov

    RRaskolnikov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    I put in the wireless software, typed in the correct ID and password, and it says I'm connected, but I'm not, and the network icon on the taskbar is stuck on "acquiring network address".

    The wired computer is working fine, so there's definitely no problem there.

    I tried disconnecting and reconnecting the adapter, but that didn't do anything.

    Tried restarted the computer. That didn't do anything, either.

    What's the problem?

    I'm not sure if this will help any, but just so you know, I recently reinstalled Windows on this computer. Not sure if that's relevant or not.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see a device manager screen shot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if the above does not work then

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW and the X keys together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

    once you are in device manager then

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. RRaskolnikov

    RRaskolnikov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    I can't get online, so I don't have any way to upload the picture.

    EDIT: And I don't have a USB flash drive.
     
  4. RRaskolnikov

    RRaskolnikov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    5
  5. RRaskolnikov

    RRaskolnikov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Nevermind. I got it.

    The problem with that I was putting the password into "create a passphrase" rather than "enter a passphrase manually" or whatever it says. A simple mistake, I know.

    Anyway, thanks for the help, etaf.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    (y) thanks for letting us know
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088461

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice