Solved: MY yahoo email problemS - GHOSTERY

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CoRoMo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
148
  • I have a handful of yahoo email accounts and this problem exists within them all.
  • My computer at work has Vista and my computer at home has W8 and this problem occurs with both desktops.
  • I use Mozilla Firefox primarily.
  • This issue ONLY exists in Yahoo mail. Hotmail and others work just fine.

First off...

When composing an email, I set the cursor in the address box, I can't type anything, nothing. No button on the keyboard will enter a character in any of those fields. This problem also occurs if I try and type in the 'Subject' box or in the email body. Nothing works.




Next...

When I try and close that tab, it does nothing. Clicking on the 'X' does not close the mail tab.




Next...

Notice how you can see attachments listed on this email...(I used IE to get this screenshot)


When I'm viewing that very same email in FF, the attachments are not in view...




Next...

Notice in the images above that I have a draft saved. When I try and load that email to continue the draft, here is the error that Yahoo give me. Also, I tried to click on the 'Switch to Plain Text' feature, nothing. It won't react. Notice how I don't have any of the rich text tools; they did not load either. When I try and delete the 'Re:' in the subject line, neither the 'delete' button or the 'backspace' button will remove text.




So, different desktop machines, different locations, different operating systems, different Yahoo mail accounts. Thee only common thread is that they are using FF 18.0.1 and trying to navigate Yahoo mail.

What could be causing Yahoo Mail to be inoperable from either computer's browser?
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Have you tried running Firefox without add-ons?

I'm still using Yahoo Mail! Classic in all of my accounts. I just hate the new version.

As a test, you could try reverting to Classic?

If you wish, I can tell you how to do it.
 

CoRoMo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
148
I know of a way to revert to classic, but I don't want to have to manually enable java when I'm elsewhere on the net.

Can you tell me how to insert a link and how to use rich text while using classic?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,424
After an add-on I would suspect a security application. Any in common between the two systems?
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Here's how I revert to Yahoo! Mail Classic:

You need to trick Yahoo into thinking you have an old version of Internet Explorer 6, which is not supported by Yahoo! Mail anymore.

Download an extension for Firefox called User Agent Switcher.

Just install it and select Internet Explorer 6. Return to your Default User Agent String when done (in your case, Firefox).




Open Yahoo! Mail and you'll get a message that your browser is not supported and will prompt you to upgrade your browser to newer versions of Firefox, Internet Explorer or Safari.




Use the second link to go back to the previous version and you'll get the old Yahoo! Mail Classic back for good.

Once done, you don't need to stay in Internet Explorer 6 mode. Just go back to your original User Agent String and enjoy your good old reliable Yahoo! Mail Classic again. (y)
 

CoRoMo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
148
After an add-on I would suspect a security application. Any in common between the two systems?
Both using FF 18.0.1 configured identically (add-ons, etc.)
Both using AVG Free 2013
 

CoRoMo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
148
No. Just FF.
Have you tried disabling all add-ons?
Slap me! That did it.

I have two add-ons; Ad Block Plus and Ghostery.

So one of those was doing this.
 

CoRoMo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
148
So the way I configured Ghostery was to check every item in the 'Blocking Options'; all the 3pes and all the cookies...


 

CoRoMo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
148
Obviously since I chose to block everything, I'm inadvertently blocking the features in Yahoo mail. Off the top of your head(s), which one of those might be blocking the features in Yahoo mail?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top