Solved: NAS drive not visible to my desktop anymore

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Apexs

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
59
Hi, after doing a clean install of windows 7 pro im no longer able to map my nas drive.
I can login to the admin page though using its ip 192.168.2.5
i have tried alsorts, my laptop can still map it and i can access the files from it without any problems.
hope someone can help my with this?

Thanks


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5
Processor Count: 8
RAM: 6135 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470, 1280 Mb
Hard Drives: C:
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P6X58D-E
Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Disabled
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
did you install with a recovery CD and if so did that put security suite trailware onto the PC - Norton, Mcafee etc
that maybe blocking access
 

Apexs

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
59
no it was a clean install, i have avast installed but iv disabled it and win firewall for now
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
what IP does it get from th e router ?

can you ping that ip from the PC
 

Apexs

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
59
ip atm is 192.168.2.5
yes i can ping it
and i can goto the admin controls via a web page using the ip

i just can't map the drive as its not showing when i goto Map Network Drive

could it be a netbios issue or something? how could i test this?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
if you know the share name can you map using the ip address

\\ipaddress\sharename
 

Apexs

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
59
Tried all that aswell, i just get 404 error

i typed the ip in to win explorer and got this error
 

Attachments

Apexs

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
59
bump..

the NAS is a WD Mybookworld II (blue rings) edition, if that help
 

Apexs

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
59
Windows Network Diagnostics

your computer appears to be correctly configured, but the device or resource (ipofnas) is not responding

ok i have windows virtual pc installed, iv just run xp mode and was able to map my nas, and iv just moved files from the virtual xp pc's mapped nas drive, to my windows 7 folder and the files transfered..... this is so annoying,

so why the help can't windows 7 pro see it when i try to map the drive? i don't want to have to run xp mode just to access my nas
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top