Solved: need help getting internet to work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

louda15578

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
7
hey
i have had this problem for a few weeks now and no matter what i try to do i cant fix it. when ever i go on "google" and type something in i have about 10 seconds untill the internet just stops loading what ever i am looking at.

The only way i can use it is, if i keep closing and opening internet explorer and quickly typing what i want in. it used to come up with "googletoolbar2" is not responding so i went into add/remove programs and removed it. That has stopped it from saying that. I still only have 10 seconds to use it.

i have given up trying to use myspace and facebook as the page doesnt load. i even left it on overnight to load the page and didnt work!!!

I am hopeing there is a way to restart the internet or sumthing

plz help me im so pissed of at it.

thanks loudaaa
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,122
If you are running IE 7 try resetting it

1. Open Internet Explorer 7.
2. Click Tools, and then click Internet Options.
3. Click the Advanced tab.
4. Under Reset Internet Explorer Settings, click Reset.


Hope that helps

joan
 

louda15578

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
7
i did what your said and restarted it. and then restarted my computer and it is working!!!. im so happy now i cant tell you how happy i am :)

10/10

thanks loudaaa :):):):D:D(y)(y)
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,122
You are welcome.

You can mark this thread solved

So glad you are happy now :)

joan
 

louda15578

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
7
hey joan bad news for some reason its has stopped working. . . . . and i restarted it and restarted my computer and all of that a few times and left it for a day, and still doesnt want to work.:(

i can download things fine useing "VUSE" and have been the whole time.

its just something to do with the internet?? do u have any other things i can try ??? if not i will post a new post

thanks loudaaaa :)
 

louda15578

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
7
hey
i have norton, AVG and ad-wear and they have been finding trojans for a while. but laterly i have not found any.

thanks loudaaa
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
34
When you say that the problem is just the internet, do you mean just web pages won't load, but other programs that don't access the web pages work fine?

If you are getting IE cannot display web page error's... try this.

-Goto your Command Prompt (press Win key + R at same time on keyboard, type cmd, and click ok to open)
-Type: NETSH int ip reset reset.log
-Type: netsh winsock reset catalog
-Type: ipconfig /flushdns
-Type: ipconfig /registerdns
-Close the command prompt box
-Check your IE settings, under the connection tab, and then under the two buttons (settings, LAN settings) check to make sure "Automatically detect settings" is checked.
-Click Ok to exit settings.
-Close IE
-Reboot your computer.

-The home page may not load. Try another after the first one either loads, or does not load.
 

louda15578

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
7
hey joan i installed that Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and it found 8 infections and then i restared my computer and it worked so thank you agian :). hopefully this time i wont need to ask for help again thanks soo much. And you think that i should uninstall Norton and keep AVG. becasue norton cost me money but i must say AVG works so much better for finding trojans. but Norton seems to stop them before they get on and AVG find them if it misses them. Is it bad to run two of them ??

loudaaaa
 

louda15578

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
7
hey pollex i installed Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and it found 8 infections :|.And my internet is working!!! So if it stuffs up agian i will try your way
thanks anyways matee

loudaaa
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
1,122
Loudaa, well it is up to you , maybe you should keep Norton until it runs out, and delete AVG.
But you shouldn't run 2 anti virus programes
Your choice

joan
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top