1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Need help knowing what video card to install?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ormissy82, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ormissy82

ormissy82 Thread Starter

I have a Dell Optiplex GX270 small desktop running at 2.66Ghz with Windows XP. My son's games are freezing and so I am guessing I need to upgrade the video card.
    I have the AGP slot for that but have no idea which one to buy or what will work with this system. After initial research I think I need a low profile one. The monitor I am using is a wide screen which is suppose to run at 1440X900 but I could never get it to run at that. I don't need the latest and best card just a cheap fix so he can play the standard games. I am new to PC's after being a Mac owner for 20 years and would appreciate any help anyone could give. :eek:

2. racock

racock

ormissy82,

Low profile is generally the problem with these;
    You can't go far wrong with an NVidia card (and at least there are low-profile versions out there). Basically, they come as GeForce WXYZ
    where WXYZ is the number, The first digit is the series (higher the better), the second is the revision (you'll want a minimum of W6YZ, but check the games you want to play for details) the last two are normally zeros, then you'll be interested in how much memory you'll need.

A quick guide is;
    Go to Game / PCWorld etc. have a look at all the sorts of games that you might be looking at running, and check the specs on the back for the graphics card.
    It'll say something like: "minimum NVidia GeForce 7600 or better with 256Mb RAM".