1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Need help my desktop keeps shutting down!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by hisbeauty4ashes, Dec 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Hi friends.

    Wow for a couple of weeks now my desk top stays on then shits down after a few hours it just crashes.
    Now when it starts up it will go to Bios. I check to see if all the fans are working for the cook down and they are. Also I ran all virus scans.

    I am backing up everything on my external backup drive.

    Please help if you are able.

    Thanks
     
  2. daonly1

    daonly1

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Make sure it's not overheating. You can check the temperature of the cpu throught the bios setup.
     
  3. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Please tell me how to do that?
     
  4. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    When you first press the power button, you should see a prompt to "Press ??? to enter Setup" . . do that and you are in BIOS . . look thru the various tabs for the temp readings.

    Have you blown out the dust bunnies ? Have you looked in Event Viewer to see if any error is logged when it shuts down?
     
  5. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Yes I just dusted it out the other day. I have not seen any error message in the event log. It just crashes then it shuts down and then it goes to a Bios page I have to keep pushing inter to get it to boot up. It does not say anything on the page as far as what is wrong. It is a mystery to me. When I dusted I checked to see if both fans were blowing which are to cool the system down and they were so humm not sure.
     
  6. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Okay here is the screen that keep showing up. However I am not getting anything in Bios.

    I have a warning it says the CPU has been changed. Please re-enter CPU settings in the CMOS setup and remember to save before quite.

    WHAT THE HECK DOES THAT MEAN??

    Under that it has,
    Press F8 To Enable system config
    Press F9 To select Booting Device after post
    Press F1 To Continue, DEL to enter Setup.
     
  7. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Press DEL and in BIOS, reset to defaults
     
  8. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    When I press Del it goes right into startup. Please tell me step by step to go into Defaults to reset it.

    Thanks.
     
  9. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Are you using a USB keyboard?
     
  10. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    NO I am usinf a wireless keyboard. I can use a USB board if need be.
     
  11. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Wireless is USB is it not? . . try a plain vannilla PS/2 keyboard . . your BIOS may not be recognizing the keyboard at boot
     
  12. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Okay I will plug it in and see. I am sorry I am not computer savey.
     
  13. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    No problem . . let us know it that does the trick
     
  14. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Okay please tell me how to get into bios on XP. I tried F9 it boots to startup. I have no Bios key which one is it?
     
  15. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    When you first press the power button, look for a prompt that says "Press ??? to enter setup" . . . do that and you will be in BIOS.

    So you still get the option to Press F1 To Continue, DEL to enter Setup.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Need help
  1. mikequest3
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    1,331
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031241

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice