1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Need Help with home network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by damon2, Jan 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. damon2

    damon2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Had a problem at the start of the week, my ISP was dropping me every couple of hours. My SO contacted verizon and they had her try some things, she doesn't recall all of what they were but none of which solved the problem, I remembered we had a similar issue a couple of years ago and was actually able to find the thread I started on another website that fixed the problem

    http://www.windowsbbs.com/networking/68053-help-i-think-its-dns-problem-whatever.html#post367515

    Went back reread it, did it and the problem was solved. Last night went to use our other computer (the Vista machine) and now it can't connect to the XP Box. I believe the problem is on the XP machine, as when the Vista machine searches for networks it doesn't "see" our network but does find others.On the XP box when I click my network places, then Entire network, then Microsoft windows network, the "workgroup" it only shows the xp box (office).
    Clicking the web client network gives me the error message unable to browse the network, the network is not present or not started
    Double clicking the Microsoft Terminal services results in a blank window
    When I click the tools button, map network drive the Vista machine is on the drop down menu, when I click it in the Drive Box, no folders show up in the folder box, when I click browse all it shows are the folders on the XP machine

    From the Start button, my computer, it shows the Vista Box (public on gamebox (Z)) and under type it says: disconnected network drive.
    Also did this
    # Click Start, click My Network Places, click Entire Network, and then double-click Microsoft Windows Network. Double clicked "workgroup" and it only shows the XP office machine, from the address bar drop down list the vista box is listed, I enter it and get eh following error message "an error occurred while reconnecting Z to \\ gamebox \ public Microsoft Windows Network Tne network path was not found. This connection has not been restored
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's see this from each of the machines.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    Note that there is a space before the -n or the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the - or / in the following commands.

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. damon2

    damon2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    had a moment tried the command on the XP box, Vista box not turned on
    cmd took me to
    c:\Documents and Settings/Owner
    when I typed in the command NBSTAT -n
    I get the message
    NBSTAT is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file

    ip config does work
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That's because the command is NBTSTAT and not NBSTAT.
     
  6. damon2

    damon2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    yes, that does make a difference

    when I enter the right command it works, now is there a way to copy from the DOS box?
    Can't highlight and when I right click the "paste" command is grayed out

    I tried switching the USB port the wireless receiver is plugged into. It seems that it works from the other one (always worked on both, now just on the one). On the XP computer when I click on my computer it still shows the Vista Box (public on gamebox (Z)) and under type it says: disconnected network drive.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Read my previous post.

    If you right click and select all and then hit Enter, it'll copy all of the command prompt contents to the clipboard.
     
  8. damon2

    damon2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    From the Vista box


    C:\Users\User>NBTSTAT -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.65] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    135693-GAMEBOX <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    135693-GAMEBOX <20> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered

    C:\Users\User>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : 135693-Gamebox
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain_not_set.invalid

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain_not_set.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR WN121T Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-6C-CA-85-93
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8175:5fab:45fb:27ba%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.65(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 01, 2010 6:04:18 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 02, 2010 6:04:18 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.238.0.14
    4.2.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : USB Wireless 802.11 b/g Adaptor
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-A8-F5-2B-31
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82566DC Gigabit Platform LAN Con
    nect
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-FC-B5-1C-C6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{E7E4B598-5226-45D3-8955-61F051DAF
    98B}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{39B31FB6-5D05-4F55-A5D0-EF764F0E8
    27A}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain_not_set.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>NBTSTAT -n

    Local Area Connection 2:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.64] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    OFFICE <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    OFFICE <20> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered
    WORKGROUP <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : office
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain_not_set.invalid

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain_not_set.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-20-C2-29-D7
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.238.0.14
    4.2.2.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 01, 2010 3:58:37 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 02, 2010 3:58:37 P
    M
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Turn off any firewalls for debugging. If the firewall is the problem, you'll have to configure it to allow access to "trusted zone" addresses. Note that some firewalls must be completely uninstalled to stop them from affecting your networking.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    PING each remote computer by IP address, and if successful, PING by name. Open a command prompt as described above and type.

    PING <ip address>
    or
    PING <computer name>

    Where:
    <ip address> - is the x.x.x.x IP address
    <computer name> - is the computer name

    A failure to PING is almost always a firewall configuration issue. Any failure to PING needs to be corrected before you go any farther.

    Note: You can obtain the IP address and computer name of a computer by opening a command prompt (DOS window) and typing IPCONFIG /ALL. This should work for any Windows version. The IPCONFIG /ALL display will provide a wealth of useful information for debugging your network connection.

    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic.

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.


    All computers should be in the same workgroup for computer browsing to function properly. File & Print Sharing has to be enabled on any computer you wish to share files or printers from. You also need to actually share the resource in question from My Computer, right click on the drive/printer/folder, and select sharing.

    If you encounter difficulties accessing computers that are visible in Network Places (Network and Sharing Center in Vista), make sure the computer being accessed has an account with the same name/password as the system connecting to it uses to login. NOTE: Vista's default is to require a password on the account to enable file/print sharing.

    While the default NetBIOS setting is correct for normal network configurations, it's possible for it to be altered, and it costs nothing to make sure it's correct. NETBIOS over TCP/IP must be enabled for normal network browsing. You can open a command prompt as described above and type the following command: nbtstat -n. This will display the status of NetBIOS or indicate it's not configured.
     
  10. damon2

    damon2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Sorry it's taken me so long, work has been let's say hectic

    can ping both
    on both systems a couple of the services were not set up to start automatically, but were running
    changed them to automatic
    rebooted both
    can still connect and transfer files without a problem

    when I ran nbtstat -n

    Local Area Connection 2:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.64] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    OFFICE <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    OFFICE <20> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered
    WORKGROUP <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    And can now browse from My Computer to the Vista Box

    Thanks
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    So, it's all working now?
     
  12. damon2

    damon2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Not quite, if I use one of the USB ports on the Vista Box everything is fine. If I use the other it doesn't "see" and log onto my home network, it does see my neighbors those, one of which is unsecured and I could log onto it. The Vista box came with a wireless "receiver" installed and my SO had a better one installed so I suspect that for some reason one of those is the problem. I won't have time to check back here for a day or so, covering a lot of extra shifts at the moment.
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If some USB ports work and others don't, or they interact with your adapters, this is a common issue. One of the many reasons I don't like USB for networking unless there's no other choice.
     
  14. damon2

    damon2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    yes I can see why, as I said I can connect okay so even though it may not be completely solved I guess it goes under the good enough category for now

    Thanks for your help
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    We don't have a "good enough" flag, but we have a solved flag. :D


    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  16. damon2

    damon2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    You might want to siggest a "good enough" one, as I'm sure that's the case rather often

    again thanks
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/898344

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice