Solved: need help with my firewall regarding network

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
I have just a two computer network a host and a client, I can get them working if I shut down what ever firewall I am running but with any firewall up I can't get to the internet on the client computer, I am running zonealarm right now but have SP2 on both computers and wouold like to run the xp firewall on the host computer and no firewall on the client computer. There must be a way to put my client computer in the exception part of the xp firewall but I can't find how, I thought that security box was suppose to pop up when something tried to get to the internet throught the host and you could tell it to block it or unblock it I have never even seen this box pop up on mine. in exceptions I looked in the add programs to try to find my second computer but could not so I used the browse and found it by name but it says to double click it and it will go to the exceptions box and you can then click it and the firewall will let it though as an exception. I can't get it to go over to the exception box, I have tried and tried cause wouldn't that solve my problem as far as getting to the internet on the client computer with the host having the firewall but letting the client through, I do not want to run without a firewall but thats the only way I can get to the internet with the client computer I have dialup, can anyone help? Please
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Have XP with SP2 on about six computers at home with all the default firewall settings. All can access the Internet and each other with not changes needing to be made.

You might want to temporarily uninstall (not just disable) any other firewall software just to make sure that isn't part of the problem.
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
The only other one I have is zone alarm and I disabled it on the host computer, I understand what you are saying, I will try to uninstall zonealarm but there was a problem with that in the past I think is there anything special I should no about uninstalling the free zonealarm that you know off?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
In general, when troubleshooting anything, it is best to start with as simple a configuration as possible. Otherwise there are too many possible sources for the cause of a problem.

In this case, having multiple firewalls installed would certainly add to the complexity of the situation.

You can even go so far as do disable XP's firewall to see if that is part of the problem as well (after removing ZoneAlarm).

Then when things are working, start adding in things one at a time. Again, keep it simple.
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
ok, what would I do next, I uninstalled zonealarm. I redid the network, ran the wizard on the host computer then ran it on the client again. I have the firewall turned off on the client. I had the firewall on the host. I can always get to the home page either way but this is why I say it is the SP2 firewall. After I went through everything again, I went to the home page msn on the client, then tried to go to other web sites and could not, went to the host and turned off the SP2 firewall and boom, I could go to other sites right away on the client and it works good, as soon as you turn the sp2 fire wall back on on the host, you can't get anywhere on the client, I think I have to put in an exception on the host computer firewall but I tried and found the client computer name after I browsed for it but your suppost to be able to double click it to get it into the exceptions part of the sp2 firewall but double clicking anything in the browse part won't put it in the sp2 firewall, I hope that makes sense, I really need some help here, my wife uses this computer for some of her work and I use the other for mine but I don't want to go without any firewall up. any suggestions??
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Could you please provide detailed information about how each computer is configured as far a the network is concerned. In particular each computer's IP address, Subnet mask, Gateway IP and DNS address.

Also for testing, from each computer

1. Ping an external site by IP (e.g. 199.181.164.1)
2. Ping an external site by name
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
Heres what I did, I hope this is ok, I want this fixed more that anything right now, anyway here is the stuff you wanted

This is what I get with ipconfig/all on the host computer

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : xfile
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-6E-FE-62-6A
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

PPP adapter netins:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 216.248.82.120
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 216.248.82.120
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 167.142.225.3
167.142.225.5

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>




This is what I get with ipconfig/all on the client computer, with all respect I have to tell you I was frustrated so today to make sure I had Microsoft client on this compter I made sure it was checked then went to control panel and add/remove programs then add/remove windows components and clicked Networking services and clicked next and it did sometning to the computer or said it did but is running exactly the same, just wanted to let you know that cause I really appreaciate the help





Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dakota
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : mshome.net

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : mshome.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-2B-31-8B-BA
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.163
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::240:2bff:fe31:8bba%4
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 167.142.225.5
167.142.225.3
fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, September 16, 2004 5:07:25
PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, September 23, 2004 5:07:25
PM

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-10-6B-27-07-AD-87
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 3ffe:831f:4004:1952:0:106b:2707:ad87

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5445:5245:444f%5
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : mshome.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-00-A3
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.163%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>


This is what I get when I ping an ip address and a name address on the host computer

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 199.181.164.1

Pinging 199.181.164.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 199.181.164.1: bytes=32 time=197ms TTL=238
Reply from 199.181.164.1: bytes=32 time=187ms TTL=238
Reply from 199.181.164.1: bytes=32 time=203ms TTL=238
Reply from 199.181.164.1: bytes=32 time=187ms TTL=238

Ping statistics for 199.181.164.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 187ms, Maximum = 203ms, Average = 193ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.yahoo.com

Pinging www.yahoo.akadns.net [216.109.118.73] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 216.109.118.73: bytes=32 time=158ms TTL=54
Reply from 216.109.118.73: bytes=32 time=156ms TTL=54
Reply from 216.109.118.73: bytes=32 time=156ms TTL=54
Reply from 216.109.118.73: bytes=32 time=156ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 216.109.118.73:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 156ms, Maximum = 158ms, Average = 156ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>



This is what I get on the client computer when I ping the ip address and the name address

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 199.181.164.1

Pinging 199.181.164.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 199.181.164.1: bytes=32 time=203ms TTL=237
Reply from 199.181.164.1: bytes=32 time=180ms TTL=237
Reply from 199.181.164.1: bytes=32 time=195ms TTL=237
Reply from 199.181.164.1: bytes=32 time=180ms TTL=237

Ping statistics for 199.181.164.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 180ms, Maximum = 203ms, Average = 189ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.yahoo.com

Pinging www.yahoo.akadns.net [216.109.117.106] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 216.109.117.106: bytes=32 time=168ms TTL=53
Reply from 216.109.117.106: bytes=32 time=148ms TTL=53
Reply from 216.109.117.106: bytes=32 time=164ms TTL=53
Reply from 216.109.117.106: bytes=32 time=148ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 216.109.117.106:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 148ms, Maximum = 168ms, Average = 157ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

Need anymore let me know, I will keep checking for a message from you, Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
So I don't have to read so much material, and to make things clearer, if both computers can ping external IP address and web sites by name, with is the exact problem you are having?
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
If I use any firewall on the host compter thats hooked to the internet, zone alarm (which I uninstalled) but the sp2 firewall that is on now, the client computer cannot get on the internet, it gets the home page up but cannont get anywhere else, BUT, the minute you disable the sp2 firewall the client can go to any web page I want, so I think it has to be something with the firewall. I have been online with the client computer for about an hour now and it works great, but thats because my wife was on this on the host, and I shut the firewall down, when the firewall on the host computer is enabled the client cannot get to web pages but when the firewall on the host is disabled, the client can get around to all the web pages. I think I have to make some kind of exception on the firewall but don't know what or how, does this make sense to you?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Then it has something to do with ICS and the Firewall.

Have you checked Microsoft's site for any suggestion. I know with the previous version just to get on a local area network with the built-in firewall you needed to open up some ports.
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
Well I have found stuff on the sp2 firewall that explains about that stuff that where it says about add things to the exception part and if it is not in the add part you can browse and find it and are suppose to be able to double click it to get it into the exception part so the firewall can reconize it but I have double clicked some things and can't get them to go into the exception page, it also tells about the ports but I don't know how to do that, I get lost, but I think your right if I new what ports to open I could probably do it but I have no idea, any help with that would be much appreciated
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
What page did you find this on.

Also, the problem points out how much easier and better it is to use a DSL/Cable router than sorting through all the hassles of ICS.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
If the MS article gives the specific ports to open up or other instructions with SP2 to share the ICS connection, you can get to this by:

Start / Run / wscui.cpl
Click on Windows Firewall
Click on the Exceptions tab
Follow whatever the instructions detail (Add Program or Ports)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top