1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Need info on power supply

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by touk123, Jan 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. touk123

    touk123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    When I try to boot up my Gateway GT5670 pc the Acer monitor says no signal. I think it coud be the power supply. This computer is 4 yrs. old and I've replaced the Motherboard, Video card, hard drive, cd rom. About all I have left to replace is the fan and power supply! :>) Are power supplies compatable or do I go by the name of my pc? I'm not real savvy when it comes to a pc. All I know about this one is that it says 300.0 watt. Is that what I need or can I go higher on the wattage? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    gateway are renowned for their oem psu's failing

    what you require depends on what video card you installed in it
     
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,354
    First Name:
    Allan
    Reminds me of the story about a broom that lasted 100 years, the bristles were replaced 3 times and the handle twice !

    I would buy a new Case with/and PSU - then you will have a 'new' PC.
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    always buy case and psu as separate items
     
  5. touk123

    touk123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Thank you, dai, for replying. Now if I can figure out what kind of video card I have installed!
    Managed, You've hit the nail on the head, It's an ALMOST new BROOM! LOL
    I'll get back if and when I get a power supply and let you know if that was the problem. Thanks again, folks!
     
  6. touk123

    touk123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    I'm red-faced!! i took my pc outside and blew the dust out and it started working again! :>) I'm sorry I bothered you guys. Thanks.
     
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,354
    First Name:
    Allan
    So now the dust will be replaced ?

    Seriously though that's good news, a red face is cheaper than a new PSU !
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084219

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice