Solved: Need info on power supply

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

touk123

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
172
When I try to boot up my Gateway GT5670 pc the Acer monitor says no signal. I think it coud be the power supply. This computer is 4 yrs. old and I've replaced the Motherboard, Video card, hard drive, cd rom. About all I have left to replace is the fan and power supply! :>) Are power supplies compatable or do I go by the name of my pc? I'm not real savvy when it comes to a pc. All I know about this one is that it says 300.0 watt. Is that what I need or can I go higher on the wattage? Thanks in advance.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
gateway are renowned for their oem psu's failing

what you require depends on what video card you installed in it
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,285
Reminds me of the story about a broom that lasted 100 years, the bristles were replaced 3 times and the handle twice !

I would buy a new Case with/and PSU - then you will have a 'new' PC.
 

touk123

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
172
Thank you, dai, for replying. Now if I can figure out what kind of video card I have installed!
Managed, You've hit the nail on the head, It's an ALMOST new BROOM! LOL
I'll get back if and when I get a power supply and let you know if that was the problem. Thanks again, folks!
 

touk123

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
172
I'm red-faced!! i took my pc outside and blew the dust out and it started working again! :>) I'm sorry I bothered you guys. Thanks.
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,285
So now the dust will be replaced ?

Seriously though that's good news, a red face is cheaper than a new PSU !
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top