1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: NETGEAR connectivity issues

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sjursen, Jan 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sjursen

    sjursen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Hello everyone.

    I've had this problem for a long time now, and I'm sick and tired of it. I have a Netgear WNR612v3 router, and am currently connected directly to the modem. The problem has been that after a while, the router's connection becomes limited, and I get a DNS-error. Sometimes I can't even connect to the router. It seems that the amount of devices connected has an impact on the frequency of my problem. Let's say that I am in my apartment, my internet connection through my wireless router is working like it should, and my roommate comes home. He connects his computer to the internet, and suddenly we both have limited connectivity (DNS-problems).

    I took a look at this thread http://forums.techguy.org/networking/508529-solved-netgear-ip-address-conflict-2.html, and it sort of worked for me before my Christmas break. I'm just looking for any tips I can get, and I will now post information which I think is relative to the problem.

    ipconfig /all (cable connected directly to modem):

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Killer e2200 Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.30) #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 8C-89-A5-06-DF-FA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7578:c3d9:857a:bd4a%17(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 84.202.201.151(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 15, 2013 14:23:38
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 15, 2013 19:23:38
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 84.202.201.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.134.40.14
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 529303973
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-6A-F5-F0-00-13-74-00-00-00
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 193.213.112.4
    130.67.15.198
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0C-D2-92-0D-97-7A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    ipconfig /all (connected through router with connection to internet):

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 135
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0C-D2-92-0D-97-79
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::28c0:aecf:1035:f15a%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 15, 2013 14:49:47
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 16, 2013 14:49:47
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 285218048
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-6A-F5-F0-00-13-74-00-00-00
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    ipconfig /all (with limited connectivity through router):


    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 135
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0C-D2-92-0D-97-79
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::28c0:aecf:1035:f15a%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 15, 2013 14:49:47
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 16, 2013 14:49:47
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 285218048
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-6A-F5-F0-00-13-74-00-00-00
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    I found something else too, but I have no clue what relevance it has. It just got my attention as it said that the DHCP was disabled.


    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1809:4ac:ab35:3668(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1809:4ac:ab35:3668%19(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 620756992
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-6A-F5-F0-00-13-74-00-00-00
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


    Bear with me here guys, I'm not an expert in this. Would really like some help. Shout out if there is some other information which would be beneficial to you. Thanks a lot in advance. Have a nice day guys.
     
  2. sjursen

    sjursen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Alright, I am alone in my apartment now, so I tried to work some things out again. I turned the modem and router on and off, and am now connected through my wireless router, and everything is seemingly fine. I tried to connect my iPhone to the router, but once I did, my computer again got a DNS-error and limited connectivity. My phone did not connect either.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ignore those entries for ipv6 tunnelling

    looks Ok for an ipconfig /all

    have a look at the router configuration pages and see what the DHCP range on the LAN settings are set to

    when you get disconnected - post some ping tests

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.1.1
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,937
    First Name:
    Terry
    Do you get the same problem when connected to the router by ethernet?
     
  5. sjursen

    sjursen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Quick question, do I have paint on Win8? Tried doing a search for it, but couldn't find it. In lack of a screenshot - and maybe not knowing 100% what you're referring to - I found some options on my router config page.

    There is a box I can check or uncheck which reads "Use router as DHCP Server". It is currently checked.
    Starting and ending IP addresses are set to

    192.168.1.2 and 192.168.1.254.

    Will post pings as soon as my internet goes down. Thanks alot, and sorry for any grammar mistakes, English is not my native language.
     
  6. sjursen

    sjursen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Hi Terry, and thanks for getting back to me. I tried connecting with an ethernet cable and subsequently connecting other devices wirelessly (another computer and an iPhone). This actually worked, but I got curious after a couple of minutes and unplugged the first computer from the ethernet cable. A minute later all devices had limited connectivity through wireless connection. Don't know if this helps, but it is getting quite late in Norway now, and I have some classes to attend to in the morning. I can do more thorough and timely tests tomorrow and get back to you if that would help.

    Quick edit:

    Now I'm connected wirelessly through all three devices again, and I have no connectivity issues as of now. This leads me to suspect that ethernet connectivity is not the issue.

    Here are the ping-results:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Thomas>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Users\Thomas>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Users\Thomas>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Thomas>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,937
    First Name:
    Terry
    I asked about an ethernet connection to determine if your problem is only with the wireless network or more generally with the router. It can save going down the wrong trouble shooting path.

    I don't know if Windows 8 has Paint, and am not now on the system. When on the Start page on an empty space right click and then click on "All Apps" in the bottom right of the screen. If Paint exists it will be on the resulting page. Or, when on the Start page just type paint and it will be found or not.

    To take a screen shot you can use the Snipping Tool; or ...

    < Windows logo> + < prtscrn> Puts image of screen (.png) into the Screenshots folder in the default pictures folder

    For more on using Windows 8 maybe Taming the Windows 8 DESKTOP GUI will help.

    I suggest that you make sure you have the latest firmware for the router; then reset it to factory defaults and reconfigure it. If this is a router problem that is pretty much the only possible fix.
     
  8. sjursen

    sjursen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    I'll get some screenshots later. He asked for the DHCP range, and I thought that was what I found and answered in one of the posts above.

    I tried keeping one of my computers on all night, connected wirelessly to the router. When I woke up, it was still connected to the internet. Then I tried connecting my other computer wirelessly, and I immediately got limited connectivity and DNS-error. I updated the routers firmware, and reset to factory defaults. The update and reset did nothing, I think it actually made it worse. I have yet to be able to connect wirelessly through the router after this. I can however get internett access through an ethernet cable between my computer and the router.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,937
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 8 or 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Identify your network if it is not obvious.
     
  10. sjursen

    sjursen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    I just edited away everything I wrote, because my computer's network password wasn't set correctly after I reset the router. Will post Xirrus results asap.

    I am connected with four devices now. I think the firmware was the issue, but I'll let you know if the problem is solved or if it persists. If this was indeed the problem, I feel kind of embarrassed...:eek:
     
  11. sjursen

    sjursen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    It seems like firmware was the problem. Maybe I didn't even think about it since I just bought the router a couple of weeks ago. Thank you so much though, brilliant!
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,937
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085316

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice