1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Netgear router-internet connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by adam80, May 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. adam80

    adam80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Hello,
    currently i use Netgear DG834G v5 router and i am unable to access the internet both wired and wireless.i used this router since november and this is the first time i have these prbs. i contacted my internet provider and they checked the line and they said that is working properly. i changed the dns servers and the problem remains unsolved!i only have access on the internet only when i restart the router and for the next 10-15mins.i used the cmd to check and it says req.timed out or received 0 % loss i dont know if there is something with the firewall. i recently changed the antivirus from norton to avira but i didnt have any prbs when i changed it.
    what do u think?
    thanks in advance!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Sounds like the router is dying if it works for a short period and then stops. Have you considered upgrading the firmware, then resetting it to factory defaults and reconfiguring it? That's about as much as you can do for the router.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,749
    First Name:
    Wayne
    could be the firewall - try disabling
    Try restarting pc and tapping F8 as it starts - a menu should appear and choose
    safemode with networking
    see if that works in a basic configuration
    post back the following if you can when its working and then repeat when it fails
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    have you tried restoring the factory settings? and did you check with one or more computers?
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Can you get access if you bypass the router?
     
  6. adam80

    adam80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    1.i ve checked in in another laptop but it says ip address is used by another.
    2. i ve checked the safe mode by pressing f8 but it still the same,
    i used cmd twice and it says...requ. timed out
    and the second time
    sent :4 received :0 loss:[email protected]
    thanks
     
  7. adam80

    adam80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    when i restart the router i have access for only 15mins and then is off.i have no idea how to change the firewall settings..i didnt use the factory settings since 2years ago when i ve bought my laptop
     
  8. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    try resetting to factory defaults to see if it solves the issue
     
  9. adam80

    adam80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\panos>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=134ms TTL=46
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=352ms TTL=46
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=310ms TTL=46
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=206ms TTL=46

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 134ms, Maximum = 352ms, Average = 250ms

    C:\Users\panos>

    C:\Users\panos>

    C:\Users\panos>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=1026ms TTL=46
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=693ms TTL=46
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=779ms TTL=46
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=659ms TTL=46

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 659ms, Maximum = 1026ms, Average = 789ms

    C:\Users\panos>
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,749
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is that the results for when you thought it was disconnected or connected ?
     
  11. adam80

    adam80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    sorry for the late reply but i have to restart the router to have some access on the internet!::)
     
  12. adam80

    adam80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    connected
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,749
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK - when its disconnects do the test again and then copy into notepad and post back when you have internet back again
     
  14. adam80

    adam80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    now i am on safe mode and it's working abs.fine for more than 10mins i think...
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,749
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Keep on there for a while and confirm it really is OK in safe mode - that would be quite important to establish if it is the PC and not the router
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/925581

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice