1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: NetGear Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by HaroRider, Aug 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HaroRider

    HaroRider Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Hey, I have a netgear router and every time I restart my computer the router seems to not work anymore. After restart I click IE and it loads up to that Not respondiong screen. Once I reset the modem and router its fine again. Anyone have any ideas on what it could be?
     
  2. blaqDeaph

    blaqDeaph

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    Are you using any DNS servers or proxy servers?
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    When you restart your computer and it fails to connect, let's see this:

    For 98 or ME, Start, Run, COMMAND to open a DOS window:
    --- or ---
    For 2K or XP, Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  4. HaroRider

    HaroRider Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Home
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nyc.rr.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nyc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-CA-AB-E7-0C
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.90.101.199
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 24.90.96.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.41.64.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.29.103.10
    24.29.103.11
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 10, 2006 12:45:23 P
    M
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, August 11, 2006 8:46:26 AM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
     
  5. dloonam

    dloonam

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Looks like the PC is trying to use the modem's info, not the router's. Does your cable modem offer a USB connection in addition to the Ethernet, and if so, is it connected to anything? Also, was this test done with the router still connected? One other thing - reset the modem and router again, then run the same tests and paste the results.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Check and see if you have the modem plugged into the router's WAN/Internet port, NOT one of the LAN/Network ports.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,400
    First Name:
    Terry
    Just a comment--have you ever seen such a non-round time for a lease period: 20 hours, 1 minute, 3 seconds if I've done the math correctly.
     
  8. HaroRider

    HaroRider Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    I can connect it USB if I wanted to, but I did not due to the annoying drivers that I would need. The first test was without the router connected here is it with the router connected

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Home
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nyc.rr.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nyc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-CA-AB-E7-0C
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.29.103.10
    24.29.103.11
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 10, 2006 9:01:12 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 18, 2038 10:14:07 PM


    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,400
    First Name:
    Terry
    That last ipconfig /all is when you "restart my computer the router seems to not work anymore"? If so, is anything different when it is working?
     
  10. HaroRider

    HaroRider Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    when it works it is fine, it works fast as it should with no problems.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,400
    First Name:
    Terry
    I meant does an ipconfig /all show anything different? I cannot detect any problem in the one you posted, but maybe I overlooked something, and would like to compare with one from when the computer is working with the router.
     
  12. HaroRider

    HaroRider Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    i dont know how to read them things, but that last one when I posted it was working
     
  13. blaqDeaph

    blaqDeaph

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    can you post one when the connection doesnt work?
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/490970

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice