1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Netgear WGR614v6 Router and Vista

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lmp4, May 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lmp4

lmp4 Thread Starter

Hi, I am an absolute computer beginner (I use my computer for word processing, email, and internet), so please bear with me; I read a lot of other posts to determine what I would need to say here, sorry if i leave anything out.

We have a gateway desktop with windows xp, which is connected to a cable modem, and the modem to a wireless router, netgear wgr614v6. an ibm laptop running xp connects to the wireless network and has never had any problems. we got a new laptop, gateway, with vista on it and it will not connect to any wireless network. i ahve already called gateway tech support, reinstalled the drivers, gone through all their suggestions, and they say the problem is with my router. the laptop finds my wireless network but says it cannot connect, no matter how close it is to the router. the network is not password protected, encrypted, and i even tried turning off all firewalls. i have logged in to the router and tried changing the channels and other settings to see if that would work and nothing does. i have power cycled the router and modem every time i made a change to see if that would help and it does not. the laptop consistenly sees the network but says it can't connect.

netgear has a site with info on upgrading your router for vista but next to my model router is a link for a complete reinstall of the router; we dont have vista on this desktop and there is no one file specified to upgrade the router for vista in the download.