Solved: NetGear WNDR3700 Incompatibilty W/ Atheros AR5700

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

subcmdr

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
6
I can connect to my LAN, but with local access only. I've been to the mfg's forums and tried their fixes, driver updates, and manual setups- no joy so I've reset to auto defaults. This laptop connects to several other routers wi-fi without problems. The WNDR3700 solved all my previous router problems, was truly plug and play, and may have cured me athsma as well. The event logs show a time-out during the semaphore portion of the log-in.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,493
do you mean AR5700

we are seeing issues on AR5007 and AR5007EG
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,493
lets see an ipconfig /all , ping tests and also an xirrus screen shot

if you are using WPA(2) wireless security, log into the router and remove the wireless security and then see if you can connect and access the internet

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------


------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Ping Tests}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Just for your information on the AR5007 - NOT the AR5700 - we are seeing issues with wireless security wpa(2)
Atheros AR5007EG
We have recently been seeing a whole lot of problems with that adapter over the last couple months, especially with WPA(2) encryption.

The adapter gets an IP configuration, and shows as connected, but communication is non-existent or sporadic.
Log into the Router and disable the wireless security and see if you are now able to connect to the internet and surf OK. - Post back here if that does work or not.

In Device Manager right click on the wireless adapter and "update driver." That apparently has worked for some posters. If not, download and install the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site support section.

You can post the Make and EXACT model of PC here, along with the windows version you have and we can find the driver and post a link here.

Assuming that also does not work all I can suggest is to use wireless security of WEP or to get an external USB wireless card.
You might also bug your laptop's tech support about the problem--maybe people can put pressure on Atheros to find a fix.
 

subcmdr

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
6
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Admin>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Admin-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3A-C1-43-26
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 16, 2011 8:46:02 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 17, 2011 8:46:01 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-53-E8-80
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3B245AA7-0836-4936-8E97-D48C710AB
7CF}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{2391CC93-C4B2-4481-A1C7-8FD6682BA
337}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Admin>

From the event log:
For complete information about this session see the Wireless Diagnostic Informational Event. Helper Class: Layer2 Security Initialize Status: Success Result of diagnosis: Problem found Root cause: Windows cannot connect to "mother24lan" Wireless authentication failed because of a timeout. Detailed root cause: Layer 2 security key exchange did not generate multicast keys before timeout Repair option: Try connecting to "mother24lan" again If the problem continues, contact your network administrator or hardware manufacturer for further assistance. Information for connection being diagnosed Interface GUID: {3b245aa7-0836-4936-8e97-d48c710ab7cf} Interface name: Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter Interface type: Native WiFi Profile: mother24lan SSID: mother24lan SSID length: 11 Connection mode: Infra Security enabled: Yes Connection ID: 8 Security settings provided by hardware manufacturer (IHV): No Profile matches network requirements: Yes Pre-Association and association status: Success Security and Authentication: Configured security type: Wireless Protected Access with pre-shared keys (WPA-PSK) Configured Encryption type: CCMP (AES) Security connect status: Fail 0x00048005 Number of security packets received: 2 Number of security packets sent: 2 802.1X protocol: No Key exchange initiated: Yes Unicast keys received: Yes Multicast keys received: No
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>Ping 192.169.1.1

Pinging 192.169.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.4: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.4: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.4: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.4: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 192.169.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

C:\Windows\system32>Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>

C:\Windows\system32>Ping google.com
Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
.

C:\Windows\system32>Ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.4: Destination host unreachable.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

I've just reset the TCP/IP stack- no joy
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,493
Hi,
it is actually a
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
so the statement i posted applies

Atheros AR5007EG & AR5007
We have recently been seeing a whole lot of problems with that adapter over the last couple months, especially with WPA(2) encryption.

The adapter gets an IP configuration, and shows as connected, but communication is non-existent or sporadic.
Log into the Router and disable the wireless security and see if you are now able to connect to the internet and surf OK. - Post back here if that does work or not.

In Device Manager right click on the wireless adapter and "update driver." That apparently has worked for some posters. If not, download and install the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site support section.

You can post the Make and EXACT model of PC here, along with the windows version you have and we can find the driver and post a link here.

Assuming that also does not work all I can suggest is to use wireless security of WEP or to get an external USB wireless card.
You might also bug your laptop's tech support about the problem--maybe people can put pressure on Atheros to find a fix.
 

subcmdr

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
6
Forgot to say that turning off the routers firewall and encryption allowed me to connect to the internet normally, as it does with an ethernet cable.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,493
we have seen a device driver update has worked occasionally , from device manager and searching for an update
also
via the manufacturers website - whats the make and exact model of the pc
also
you may want to try and reset the router to factor default and then re-configure

if none of those work
all I can suggest is to use wireless security of WEP or to get an external USB wireless card.
You might also bug your laptop's tech support about the problem--maybe people can put pressure on Atheros to find a fix.
 

subcmdr

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
6
Thankyou etaf, I am now forumed out and will seek an better internal adapter, if possible, and fight with the BIOS, etc.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,493
OK - if you require no further assistance on this tread you can mark as solved - but your always welcome to come back with an any update or for help


You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner.
:)
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,493
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Possible Solution with a Driver Update
A couple of posters here with the issue , found that the driver from this site http://www.atheros.cz/ resolved the issue
Threads are here
http://forums.techguy.org/networking/983081-solved-public-network-access-local.html
http://forums.techguy.org/networking/984731-solved-unidentified-network.html
I do NOT know anything about the site mentioned http://www.atheros.cz/

However, if you do decide to try the driver, please let us know the outcome

Direct link to the drivers are below

AR5007
Vista 32 Bit
http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-download.php?chipset=21&system=3

AR5007EG
Vista 32 Bit
http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-download.php?chipset=22&system=3
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

subcmdr

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
6
I downloaded the new driver, undid all my previous diddling, and it worked perfectly. Many thanks.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,493
Excellent - thanks for taking the time and trying that out - it will help others with the same issue, and also helps us confirm the driver is working for most people

(y)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top