Solved: Netmeeting on LAN

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Falcon007

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
96
Is there a way to set up Netmeeting to only work on your LAN and not go out to the web?
 

Falcon007

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
96
We are trying to use it with public ip's is there a way to make it so we aren't broadcasting ourselves to the web?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
If you only want it on the local LAN, why are you using public IP addresses?
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
If your company has a large block of public IP addresses and is for some strange reason assigning everyone a public IP address, in theory it should never leave your Internal network if DNS and routing is setup correctly.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
2,070
We are trying to use it with public ip's is there a way to make it so we aren't broadcasting ourselves to the web?
Then don't use Public IP's. Use Private IP's. For example, if you wanted to connect to a machine on your LAN, you would use 192.168.1.x, or whatever IP scheme your company is using.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
4,916
If you are trying to make an outbound connection through a firewall (router) you must allow Netmeeting to pass its secondary UDP connection on a port that is dynamically assigned by the program. Since this port is dynamic and randomly assigned it cannot be pre-configured in your router without opening all ports in the available dynamic range. This means you would need to open ports 1024-65535 on the router which is very risky. The bottom line is that NetMeeting is not the right application to use if you are planning on connecting to Public IP addresses. You are better off using some type of VNC software that uses the same static ports each time.


Regards,
Rollin
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top