1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) netscape communicator

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by chewie1012, Dec 10, 2001.

Mark Solved
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chewie1012

    chewie1012 Guest Thread Starter

    Hi I use netscape communicator 4.9 now when I hit reply it says netscape has caused an error and will shut down. I tried it with different user names and I tried restarting my computer.
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    Having never used Netscape, does an error box with a Details button appear like in Internet Explorer? If so, can you click Details and copy/paste the info.
    If it dosen't come up with anything, is it just a grey box with the word Error in it?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. chewie1012

    chewie1012 Guest Thread Starter

    Netscape has generated errors and will be closed by windows you will need to restart the program and error log is being created. I looked for the error log and could not find it.
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Okay

    For the log file, you may have to do a bit of searching. Just go to Find Files and type in *.log and search in the hard drive.

    Now, are you certain that there are no other messages that can be seen? Also, you say this happens when you click Reply. What about Send? The reason I say, is that I have found this:

    http://home.att.net/~cherokee67/nstscrashesmsgr.html#mail

    Have a look and see if any of that is similar. If not, let me know.

    eddie
     
  5. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
  6. chewie1012

    chewie1012 Guest Thread Starter

    I kind of took your advice. I renamed the in box to oldinbox and restarted communicator and voila its fixed. I deleted the old box and the newbox can reply. Thanks
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Ah, my first Netscape question, kind of solved by me. I feel all better now :p

    See Ya

    eddie
     
  8. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
  9. chewie1012

    chewie1012 Guest Thread Starter

    I renamed the inbox and my problem is solved. Thanks
    Jerry
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61310

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice