1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Netstat

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Frecon, Jul 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Frecon

    Frecon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    I have WinXP Home with SP2. In the past i have run NETSTAT from the command prompt without any problem. Recently, entering NETSTAT or Netstat.exe does not activate the application. What went wrong? Tks.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What is the exact error you receive? Can you run other commands like IPCONFIG?
     
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Just in case the path is not set up correctly, you might first try going to the \windows\system32 directory
     
  4. onsite

    onsite

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    look in system in control panel, then advanced , then down at the bottom enviroment variables. Make sure the path statement has system32 in it.
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Or just open a cmd prompt and type PATH
     
  6. Frecon

    Frecon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    To Bob Cerelli: Tks for the suggestion to type PATH. This led to my finding Netstat via "Windows Support Tools" and was able to run Netstat. I.m reminded that this is where i found it in the first place (75 yrs old) so i have now written it down. Tks again.
     
  7. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Glad the information helped solve the problem and thanks for posting back.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/485648

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice