Solved: Network adapter not working.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Giglamesch

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
36
I had a computer with 32 bit windows 7 ultimate and my wireless adapter plugged into that and it worked fine, but then i updated components of my computer and reinstalled it to 64bit since then it doesnt recognise the adapter as a wireless adapter. In device manager it puts it as 'other' so i told it it was a wireless adapter and then I installed the drivers for it but now it wont find any networks at all and when I click on 'adapters' and then rick click it and try to go to 'status', I can't it wont let me click on it. I have tried the adapter on anothere computer which was the same components and version and architecture of windows and for that one it worked fine with no problems. What do i do?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,839
Do you have the exact same wireless driver installed on the problem computer as on the one that works?

Please show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

Giglamesch

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
36
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Administrator>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : AlexPC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys WUSB600N Wireless-N USB Network A
dapter with Dual-Band ver. 2 #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-9C-05-5B-00
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 48-5B-39-59-6D-AA
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{B2D0A92C-9B79-4CC9-ADB9-4D7529C8FE7C}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{E3FB57DA-1E32-4930-B8D9-424ACCBEED63}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Administrator>
 

Giglamesch

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
36
This is going to sound very dumb, but I have sorted it now. The adapter i have has a version 1 and version 2 and i own the version 2 but by mistake I installed the drivers for version 1 so now it is working fine. I am very sorry to have taken up your time but thank you very much.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,839
No problem. :) Note that with my question I was indicating my belief that you somehow had installed the wrong driver. What a difference a version can make! :) Glad you solved it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top