Solved: Network Hard drive issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

spacemonkey

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
244
Hi guys

I have recently moved into my partners house and am experiencing problems with my external HD

Where i lived before i had the hard drive plugged into my wireless router and therefore could see and use it through my network connection. It connected to the router via an ethernet cable.

My partner has cable internet. The modem for which connects to a Belkin router (F5D8233-4v) This provides the house with a wireless connection. When i attempt to plug my hard drive in to the back of this again via the ethernet cable the router lights up to show a wired connection. But i cannot find the hard drive on my network places!!

I have attempted to re-boot a few times but i still cannot find it!

Can anyone give me an idea where i am going wrong?

Thanks in advance

Phil
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Not enough information.

What make and model is the hard drive?
Since you moved, it was obviously jostled around. Is it still readable when directly connected to the computer?
Is there anything in the configuration of the router that would block it? MAC filtering? Port blocking or configuration?
 

spacemonkey

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
244
the had drive works fine directly connected.. All i know is it is a sumvision hard drive enclosure not sure what actual disk is inside it though.

When it comes to the router i have no idea about port blocking or MAC filtering so it could be that i suppose?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
Does the drive get a dynamic IP configuration, or is it possibly set to a static IP that is not valid for the Belkin router? If the former, does it show up in the Belkin's client list?
 

spacemonkey

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
244
i honestly dont know the answer to that. All i did last time was just plug and play

How would i find that out?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
RTM and/or login to the router and look at the DHCP Client list.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Read the manual. You're connected to a different router now, and obviously something has to be changed.
 

spacemonkey

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
244
ok for whatever reason the manual would not download so. I have reset the hard drive using the reset button. Now the router recognises the hard drive and i can find it on the network. But when i click on it all i get is the a file for printers!! there is nothing else there. If i plug the drive in via USB i can see all my files so i know they are there!
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
The file downloads just fine. You'll have to be more specific as to what the problem is with that. You can go to this link and click on the manual from there.
http://www.sumvision.com.cn/manuals.aspx

I don't have any other suggestions for you. The manual contains poor English and plenty of Chinese characters. That's one reason I stick to name-brand productions. And I never throw manuals away.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top