1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Network Monitor

Discussion in 'Networking' started by cheaseeater, Jan 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cheaseeater

    cheaseeater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Guys, I have a question about the Windows Network Monitor.

    Does it really only work for Windows 2000? I've installed the components to run it in XP, but it doesn't seem to be there. Is there a way to monitor my home network (packets in/out, ports, etc.)? I know there are a lot of programs online, but many of them seem to only monitor the ethernet port on my computer. What is a good free program to use?
     
  2. cgesicki

    cgesicki

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    968
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Note that any network monitor will only monitor traffic your system can see. If you have multiple computers connected to either the router's switch ports, or even a separate switch, you'll only see broadcast traffic and traffic routed to/from that specific workstation.

    If you need to see all the network traffic, using SOHO components, here's one solution. Connect ALL the computers to a hub (not switch) and connect a single cable to the router. That will impact network performance for multiple stations doing simultaneous transfers, but you will see all the traffic to all workstations. I keep a couple of 8 port hubs in the closet for this purpose. :)
     
  4. cheaseeater

    cheaseeater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Does this mean I can't monitor wireless clients connected to the router?
     
  5. cheaseeater

    cheaseeater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    How exactly can this computer see another computer's network adapters then?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Correct, the wireless client traffic directly to the Internet will not be visible at the router's LAN switch interface.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Broadcast packets go to every station on the network, which is how computers "find" each other. After that, the addressed packets only go to the computer they're addressed to if you're using a switch.
     
  8. cheaseeater

    cheaseeater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    So it's possible to monitor traffic on everyone using my router? How does someone set this up without using Microsoft Network Monitor?
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Actually, it's not really possible without a bit of work. The wireless transactions either between the Internet and a wireless station, or between two wireless stations, don't show up on any of the other switch ports. It is possible to tap in between the router and modem and monitor Internet activity.
     
  10. cheaseeater

    cheaseeater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Hm. What do you mean by work? Can you explain to me how it would be done?
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You'd need a hub between the modem and the router, then you'd connect a machine to that hub. You'd also need to manually configure the machine's IP address, since you'd be hanging outside the router's internal network address range.
     
  12. cheaseeater

    cheaseeater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    What do you mean a hub between the modem and router? There's a wireless cable box, and the ethernet cable from that would be plugged into a hub which plugs into the wireless router?

    The wireless router has ethernet ports too so it can provide ethernet local area connections... So I would need to get a hub or something?
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you have a modem/router combo, you obviously can't do that.
     
  14. cheaseeater

    cheaseeater Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Huh?

    You can only monitor network usage with a Ethernet switch thing?
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I think you need to understand how a switch works. Addressed packets only to to the addressee, not to all the ports on the switch. Since the wireless switch is internal to your router, you have no way to tap into the connection between the switch and the router.

    You can't monitor traffic that never comes to the machine doing the monitoring.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536118

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice