1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: network printer not working with TP-LINK router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Mr.LLB, Dec 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mr.LLB

    Mr.LLB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    hey guys,

    I cannot see my network printer on the routers DHCP clients list.
    The printer I have is Panasonic DP-C264. The router is TP-LINK TL-R860.

    What might be the problem. The wire is fine. I have tried different wires. Same thing.

    Thanks,
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    There is no problem if you have assigned a static IP configuration to the printer.

    If it is trying to get a dynamic connection, and failing, then the router LAN port, the cable or the printer's ethernet adapter must be defective.
     
  3. Mr.LLB

    Mr.LLB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    i did give the printer a static ip....but when i try to go to it through a browser...it times out.

    but the router seems to be working fine for everything else.
    i have another network printer which is working fine through the same router.
    all my computers are working fine through the router.

    i have tried a different cable as well.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    Devices that have a static IP do not appear in the Dhcp client list.

    I assume you have a way to display the current IP configuration for the printer--either on paper or a LED display. What is the current IP address and mask? Are those consistent (IP) and the same (Mask) as for the computer?
     
  5. Mr.LLB

    Mr.LLB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    the static ip that i gave to the printer is: 192.168.1.103
    other settings of the printer are:
    DHCP Default = NO
    IP = 192.168.1.103
    Subnet Mask = 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway = 192.168.1.1

    whats dns server?

    The information of my computer is:
    IP = 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask = 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1


    everything seems consistent right?

    ok so the router won't list a static ip in its dhcp client list. but when i enter the ip of the printer into the browser, i should be able to see its page right?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    Dynamic Name Service server. A machine that figures out actual IP addresses for web names. You can assign the router's IP (192.168.1.1) and it will send it to your ISPs' DNS server.

    Your setup looks right; just wanted to make sure. I haven't looked for any information for that printer; I assume it has a web interface, but don't know for sure.

    Try pinging it:

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following commands:

    ping 192.168.1.1

    ping 192.168.1.103


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  7. Mr.LLB

    Mr.LLB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    I got it Terry.

    The DNS Server was on. I am assuming that you need it on when you want to use a domain for an ip. I turned it off and it works now.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome for my attempts. :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/969627

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice