Solved: Network Scanner issue / ?dns issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kitaro1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
5
Hello,

I have a Bizhub 362 copier with built in network scanner and it has been working fine up until one day last week. It gives me an error message stating that it cannot find the destination address using IP or Host Name, although I can navigate to that directory from my workstations.

Also, two of my workstations cannot connect to the server using the host name but can connect just fine using the IP address of the server.

Server: Windows Server 2008 R2
Workstations: Windows 7 Professional

Any help would be greatly appreciated
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
77,830
just for kicks, on one of the pc's that cannot hit by name but can by dns try flushing the dns cache and then trying the name resolution.
 

kitaro1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
5
I flushed the dns on the workstations that could not connect via host name and it worked, they are now connecting to the shared folders on the network via host name and ip. Although, sql will still not connect via host name and the scanner will still not connect to server.
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
77,830
uninstall the scanner from the server entirely, and start over with that one.

SQL is greek to me; I'd try bouncing that sql server and see where that gets ya.
 

kitaro1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
5
Thought of that. Unfortunately the scanner is a network scanner which scans and saves a pdf in a shared folder on the server using SMB, thus the scanner is not "installed" on the server as far as software and the like. Any ideas?

The scanner was working fine up until last week. The shared folders and locations of the shared folders have not changed and thus the confusion. I am able to access the shared folders from the workstations.
 

kitaro1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
5
I found a solution that seems to be working. I created a new user on the server and used those credentials to on the scanner, it works. I am still unclear as to why the Administrator account was not working with full read/write permissions to all shared folders.

Thank you for your help, I appreciate you helping me so quickly.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top