1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Networking a modem and router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jvjohnson, Jan 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jvjohnson

    jvjohnson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Just to get back on track, I have a modem, router, I want to forward web traffic (80) to one computer and still have internet on the other 2. That is what i am trying to accomplish. I'm sure i am overlooking some little thing.
     
  2. jvjohnson

    jvjohnson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Hey guys, this morning after i got my daughter back to sleep i had time to work on my network. . .AND IT WORKS!!!! Thanks guys, i unhooked the modem, configured it and then configured the router, putting the router in the subnet of the modem but outside the range, then found a crossover cable laying around i had forgotten was a crossover, then hooked the 2 back together and restarted them both by power cycling, the modem assigned DHCP to comps and here is an ip/all update. Thanks again for your help and patience. You ge a huge THANKS from out here in Idaho.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Jeff>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : amd
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain.actdsltmp

    Ethernet adapter RJ45:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.actdsltmp
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    198.6.1.3
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 19, 2007 7:34:07 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 20, 2007 7:34:07 AM
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I guess we can mark this one solved?

    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the upper right of the screen.© :)
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,182
    First Name:
    Terry
    Glad you got it working. Just for future reference, your ipconfig /all proves that your Actiontec modem is a modem/router combo. The 192.168.x.y addresses are private addresses. When you connect a computer directly to a modem that is only a modem you will get a public IP address; never an IP starting 192.168. Thus, you were correct in the first place to follow JohnWill's method to connect two routers; you just got a little confused by doing the bridging also.
     
  5. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536315

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice