(Solved) Networking Between ME and 98

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Pyrosx1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2003
Messages
147
Awhile back, I got an ethernet router (d-link 640 i believe, i can double check if its important), so that i could split my internet connection and create a network so that i could quickly move files between my two computers and share my only printer. So far, all I can do is get my internet connection shared, and i didn't really need to do anything for that. What ive done so far is set up a network neighborhood on ME, which created a disc for me to set up a network on another computer, which i used on the 98 computer. After all this, the ME computer (called "Main") tells me it can't browse the network when i try to open network neighborhood, and the 98 (named "Pete1) will recognize that the ME computer is on the network, but tells me "\\Main is not accessible. The computer or sharename cannot be found. Make sure you typed it correctly, and try again." They're both in the same work group, and ive tried changing Primary Network Log-In between Client For Microsoft Networks and Windows Login, and nothing has improved. any advice?

Pete
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Pete
Make sure you have a folder set to share residing on both computers and of course the setting in network is set for file and print sharing set to files and printers. Then double check your workgroups and name settings. After you are comfortable all the above is correct then on the WinME machine go to control panel\network and click "add" then "protocol". Select Netbeui and then OK. Do same for Win98 machine. Restart both machine and see if you can communicate now.

Dave

PS: Client for Microsoft networks is the log-in
 

Pyrosx1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2003
Messages
147
Thanks man, that helped me with sharing files and my printer. Everything seems to be working now. One question though, if I set both computers to Windows Login, so i don't have to type in my password (that i dont even have) every time, will that mess anything up?


Pete
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Messages
263
you have to log in to the network on both computers so you are part of the network otherwise ,you'll be log on locally adn won't be able to share anything , also I don't think you need netbeui as a protocol it will create broadcast that will slow your connection
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Pete
Glad all is up and running for you. You will have to put up with the Network log on when windows starts since it is part of the networking protocol.
As far as Netbeui...... Well the little bit that the communications may be slowed between computers on the network is a very small price to pay for the tempermental attitude TCP\IP protocol has.

Darkjedi
As I respect your opinion that TCP\IP can be played around with to get it to work I prefer a more stable solution for home networks.
We will let Pete be the judge whether or not Netbeui serves his needs in simplicity, security, and speed.
I use it on all of the through router networks I maintain and have had no complaints from any users nor network downtime directly attributed to that protocol except for one self inficted incident. Even several Win98\WinME crossover cable connections required Netbeui and I might add that was Microsofts direct suggestion\solution.

Pete
Will consider matter solved and again glad we could help you.

Dave
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2002
Messages
263
Dave you are right netbeui is a more simple protocol to use , but I prefer tcp ip , the great thing about this forums is we can all share our opinions , one question, you mention that you are able to route netbeui , are you using tcp ip and netbeui as your protocols? if not how are you doing it ? ist netbeui non routeable I
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Darkjedi
You are correct netbeui is not routable. My statement should of been more explicit. Through localized routed networks would of been a better statement.

Dave
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top