1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: networking Imac to Win7

Discussion in 'Networking' started by erniejt, Feb 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. erniejt

    erniejt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Pardon this newbie dilemna. I've been using Win7 on a PC for some time. I was just given an Imac G5 and would like to network them. The Imac is ethernet connected to my modem as is my PC. In windows, I can see the Imac, but can't access anything there. Is there a simple way to remedy this? I'd like to be able to swap files back and forth and use the printer (which is set up for the PC)
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,578
    First Name:
    James
    Etaf, the issue is the other way round (Mac to share to Windows) :)

    erniejt, make sure that you have file sharing turned on in System Preferences > Sharing. You will need to use the username/password that you created with this iMac to have full access (from what I know)
     
  4. erniejt

    erniejt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Okay, going by a video I found on YouTube I am able to access my PC from the IMac, but when I try to access the Imac from the PC I get a message saying "the remote device or resource won't accept the connection"
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,578
    First Name:
    James
    Did you enable file sharing on the iMac?
     
  6. erniejt

    erniejt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Okay, YES I do have sharing enabled on the Mac. Funny thing is, after I made sure of that, now when I try to access the Mac from the PC I get a "user name and password" window pop up. It has the PCs computer name listed and when I enter the password it tells me the user name or password is bad. SHould this be the Mac's name or the PC?
     
  7. erniejt

    erniejt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    I changed the system password and identity on the IMac, and now all is fine.
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,578
    First Name:
    James
    Interesting :) If the Mac hostname was the same as a PC machine, that may have caused issues, but I'm glad you found your solution.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1091067

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice