Solved: Networking my printer?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bleakxdiary

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
126
I am currently on a home network, with my desktop running WinXP Home, and my wireless laptop running Vista Home Premium. My printer's hooked up to my desktop, as is my modem and netgear router. Now, I had wireless printing on my Vista laptop before, and after me messing with my desktop I had the capabilities without using the workarounds that I've read about in the forums.

But I recently had to do a re-install of Vista because of a corrupted core driver, and now, even though I've done all of my previous steps, my Vista compy doesn't see my XP computer. The modem's on, internet is a-ok. The printer's on, and I've made sure sharing's on and they have the same workgroup names. But still, nothing.

Any ideas on what happened? Maybe a file was missed when I re-installed?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Turn off any firewalls for debugging. If the firewall is the problem, you'll have to configure it to allow access to "trusted zone" addresses. Note that some firewalls must be completely uninstalled to stop them from affecting your networking.

PING each computer by IP address, and if successful, PING by name. You can obtain the IP address of a computer by opening a command prompt (DOS window) and typing IPCONFIG. This should work for any Windows version. A failure here needs to be corrected before you go any farther.

Check your Services are Started on all PCs: Workstation, DHCP Client, DNS Client, Server, TCP/IP Netbios helper, Computer Browser.

All computers should be in the same workgroup for computer browsing to function properly. File & Print Sharing has to be enabled on any computer you wish to share files or printers from. You also need to actually share the resource in question from My Computer, right click on the drive/printer/folder, and select sharing.

If you encounter difficulties accessing computers that are visible in Network Neighborhood, make sure the computer being accessed has an account with the same name/password as the system connecting to it uses to login.

While the default NetBIOS setting is correct for normal network configurations, it's possible for it to be altered, and it costs nothing to make sure it's correct. NETBIOS over TCP/IP must be enabled for normal network browsing.
 

bleakxdiary

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
126
My firewalls are are accepting both computers. This is what happened with my computer before the reinstall, but this time, even with btoh firewalls accepting both computers, still nothing.

File and printer sharing is turned on for both computers. They have the same workgroup names, and everything is okay on that front.

I checked ipconfig on both computers. How can I save the command prompt so I can post it for you? The command prompt on my laptop has alot of stuff on it, talking about tunnel adapters etc. On my laptop, the wireless connection has netBIOS over TCP/IP enabled, but the other connections it lists say it's disabled.

As for pinging, I don't know how to do that. How do I ping so I can check it?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
What is "firewalls are are accepting both computers"?

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.

To ping a computer with IP 192.168.1.2 and name MYLAP, open a command prompt as above and type

ping 192.168.1.2
ping MYLAP

You're looking for Replies (success) or packets lost (failure). The details are not important.
 

bleakxdiary

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
126
Meaning my firewalls are not blocking either computer. I'm using windows firewall on my laptop, and BlackICE on my desktop, accepting both computers.

If it makes any difference, I pinged to my computer and it was fine.

here's the ipconfig log og my laptop:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Mommy>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Kates-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
nection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-77-5F-94-B0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::20fc:9130:cdcf:4161%9(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, July 12, 2007 7:37:39 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, July 13, 2007 11:53:44 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 151001975
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle
r
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-8B-D3-9C-43
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{7B892664-AB82-434D-87C2-E62A413DA
80E}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{0D66E6A9-486E-4FE2-8BA0-5DFE100A8
476}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:10.0.0.3%13(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4136:e388:34d7:147d:f5ff:fffc(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::34d7:147d:f5ff:fffc%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

bleakxdiary

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
126
Alright, I checked the pinging by computer name.
I can ping from laptop to desktop, but my desktop doesn't recognize the hostname of my laptop. So, It's not pinging.

But I just changed the name so I'm still going to check to see if it pings.
 

bleakxdiary

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
126
Eureka! I discovered the solution.

I disabled share for my printer on the desktop, restarted, enabled share again, restarted.

on the laptop, I connected by host name, and it worked!

Now setting this topic to solved.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2008
Messages
2
it didnt work for me, thoe the one that refered me to this page mentioned somethin about a portadministration os something like that. were you in the need to do eanything with that?
:confused:
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
If you can't find your printer, what makes you think that you even have one? :)

Posting to a thread that was solved nearly a year ago is not going to elicit a whole lot of help. Start a new thread and describe your network, devices and problem(s) or question(s).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top