1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: New 4 gig ram reporting as 2.5 gig

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by markdask1, Oct 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. markdask1

    markdask1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hi - I bought 2x2 gig ddr2 533 ram and installed it- but my comp is saying I only have 2.5 gig. I have tested each stick individually and both report two gig - I have also checked both slots and they're working. I checked the manual for the motherboard and it says it can take 4 gig so why wont my comp recognise the full 4 gig? Thanks
     
  2. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Where are you looking to get the figure of 2.5GB ?

    A 32bit OS will not use the full amount and you may be confusing the figures between installed RAM and available RAM.

    A 64bit OS, on the other hand, will use the full 4GB.
     
  3. markdask1

    markdask1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    the OS is windows 7 so its pretty recent not sure on the (X)bit though - it says 2.5gig when i go into systems in control panel.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,059
    It tells you right there in control panel>system what os is installed ie win7 32bit or 64bit. Post which one you have along with your hardware ie mb, what video card, etc, etc.

    What does it say in your bios or during post regarding ram?
     
  5. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    As you can see from the attachment (this is on my own PC) it shows the bit rate of the OS, the amount of RAM and available RAM. Send in a screenshot of yours so we can see it.
     

    Attached Files:

    • RAM.JPG
      RAM.JPG
      File size:
      23.1 KB
      Views:
      42
  6. markdask1

    markdask1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    ahh wonderfull found it - aww only 32bit shame but thanks two you both atleast now i know what it was. :)
     
  7. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Your welcome.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved reporting
  1. winpc
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,396
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024387

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice