1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: New build won't power up

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TechMaster7000, Feb 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TechMaster7000

    TechMaster7000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    Hi everyone, I built this computer about a week ago:

    Asus P8Z68-V LX Socket 1155 Onboard graphics output 8 Channel Audio ATX
    Intel Core i3 2100 3.10GHz Socket 1155 3MB L3 Cache
    Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333MHz XMS3 Memory Kit CL9 1.5V unbuffered
    Seagate 500GB 3.5" SATA-III 6Gb/s Barracuda Hard Drive 7200RPM 16MB Cache
    LiteOn iHAS124-19 24x DVD±RW DL & RAM SATA Optical Drive
    Coolermaster Elite 330 Case With Coolermaster eXtreme Power 500W PSU
    PowerColor HD 6670 1GB DDR3 DVI VGA HDMI PCI-E


    It was running great right up to today, it could easily run Photoshop, web browsing, Flash, Age of Empires 3 (almost max settings) and didn't cause any problems.

    Although, I noticed a high pitched squeal coming from the GPU so I searched for solutions on Google. I found that it could be a problem of the card not being placed properly so I plugged all the connections out, moved it to somewhere with good light, and reseated the GPU.

    When I plugged everything back in, it wouldn't turn on! No fans, no nothing. But, the light on the motherboard was on.

    After a few attempts of turning the PSU on and off, checking the front panel power connectors on the mobo etc, it finally managed to start.

    So, while Windows was starting, I decided to put the side of the case back on, and while I was doing this, the power was lost again.

    It hasn't started since and I am really worried that there is something badly wrong after reseating the GPU.

    Please help me fix this problem as I am only 16 and £350 was a lot of money to me and I don't want it wasted.
     
  2. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    A tricky one to diagnose but I will give some suggestions.

    The high pitched squeal would most likely be caused by a bad fan, unusual for a new component, make sure that all the fans are still working. If it was the CPU fan it may have caused the CPU to shutdown which would appear as if the power had cut out.

    To eliminate the GPU remove the card from the PC and run the monitor from the onboard graphics.

    Do a thorough check on all the internal connections and make sure none of the wiring is pinched against the case and causing a shory circuit.
     
  3. TechMaster7000

    TechMaster7000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    Hi, thanks for the response. I removed the GPU and plugged the VGA cable into the onboard graphics port, nothing happened again.

    Although, what I done aswell with the GPU left out was left the PSU off until the motherboard light went out (about 10 seconds), then turned it on and hit the power button again, the led light came on and the fans started spinning for about half a second (literally!), then it all stopped again. I tried the same tactic again and it didn't happen again.

    What do you mean by "pinched against the case"? Because, my wiring is a bit "all-over-the-place".
     
  4. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Just something to check that none of the wires are trapped anywhere that a sharp edge may have damaged the insulation and causing a short circuit.

    In situations like this it can help to remove everything from within the case and lay it all out on a non conductive surface. A layer of cardboard would be wise to put under the motherboard. Keep your hands earthed especially if you have a carpeted floor to stop any damage from static electricity.

    Disconnected absolutely everything that is not required for the PC to boot, just leave one stick of RAM, PSU, mobo, CPU & cooler and monitor to start with, try a boot and the system should show the post screen on the monitor and an error message due to no hard drive.

    You will need to identify the two pins that connect to the on off switch and short them together momentarily to switch it on, or take out the front panel switch and connect it to the mobo.
     
  5. TechMaster7000

    TechMaster7000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    Hi, I will definetely try this, it won't be tonight, but hopefully tommorow when I get home.

    The only thing is, I was very bad at building the computer first time round, even though I was following a instructional video. It was all good at the start because I done an external build and the test you are talking about and everything worked perfect. However, when I had to put the motherboard in the case, everything went wrong, the screws wouldn't go in, the shield has them annoying sticking out bits. I think I almost broke the motherboard trying to put it in, because the screws wouldn't go in. Even now, not all the screws are in the motherboard. The wiring is also horrible, the case in the video had a handy way of packing the wires in a section under the motherboard, I really wished I used that case now.
     
  6. TechMaster7000

    TechMaster7000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    Some more news, I left my PSU off for about 15 minutes then came back and tried it again, now it works! Everything is working again (except one thing, ill explain later). I can turn on and off the computer without any problems and load windows etc. However, something is slightly slower from the last time it worked, it seems that programs are taking slightly longer to load than earlier today. This might be me being paranoid lol.

    Now, onto the thing that dosen't work anymore, the brand new WiFi card bought yesterday. The led light on it dosen't come on and the Tenda utility for it says it is not plugged in?? Also, for some reason the time has been reset to 00:00 1 January 2005.
     
  7. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    The first part sounds like a possible power supply problem. The date and time sounds like the BIOS Sttings were reset to factory settings.
     
  8. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    A problem with the time resetting could be a bad or loose CMOS battery, or you may have a loose jumper on the mobo, look them up in the manual to locate them and check they are secure and in the correct position.

    Is the fan in the PSU working?
     
  9. TechMaster7000

    TechMaster7000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    dustjay, do you think that the WiFi card isn't working because of the PSU aswell? I didn't intentionally reset BIOS settings but the computer did turn off unexpectedly during a startup of Windows, maybe why the BIOS was reset?

    Mark, Could the CMOS battery already be bad after a week, is that possible? I will have to look about the jumpers tommorow, too tired atm haha.
     
  10. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    The CMOS battery being flat is unlikely, but something reset your Bios and a flat battery is often the cause. Test it with a voltmeter or see if it shows in the Bios. It should be 3.2V or more, anything much below 3V it should be replaced.

    You should also make sure there isn't a protective film around the battery.

    Whatever happens, go into the Bios and select Optimum Defaults and see how it goes.
     
  11. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Unfortunately thoug you may have only had the Motherboard for a week, that is no clear indication of the age of the CMOS battery, these may have been sitting on a shelf for years before being installed on a motherboard.
     
  12. TechMaster7000

    TechMaster7000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    Mark, I don't have a voltometor so is there another way of testing it? There is no protective film around the battery. I have selected optimum defaults.

    I turned on the computer this morning and went into BIOS and found that it was reset again to 00:00 January 2005.

    If a dead CMOS battery is the case, what do I do? Can I just send the battery back to eBuyer or ASUS? Or will they want the motherboard?

    Thanks.
     
  13. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    The Battery only costs about 3 or 4 dollars (US) at most department stores, it is a CR2032 battery.
     
  14. TechMaster7000

    TechMaster7000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    291
  15. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Yes, that battery will do but you should be able to pick one up from a computer store or anywhere that sells batteries, they are a common type.

    Lets get the computer going then we can have a go at determining if the WiFi card is good or not.

    Have you checked the jumpers on the mobo, if there is one on there for clearing the CMOS you might find it is loose.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1041015

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice