1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED!] new computer wont bleep, display or anything,just whirrs!?!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by theedge, Feb 13, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. theedge

theedge Thread Starter

I'm new to this game but having pulled my daughters old PC apart I thought Id put the new one together,save some money and all that.
    easy enough til I switched it on. nuthing! oh hang on the cpu fan runs and the harddrive hunts, sometimes the cd-rom looks as well, not always.

wot did I use?

MS-6378 MOBO WITH INTEGRATED GRAPHICS/SOUND
    DURON 900
    128SDRAM
    RECOMMENDED H/SINK'N'FAN
    2nd hand H/D.......it works ok in this machine I on so thats ok.

monitor has its own power supply so thats not in the way.

got any clues cos Im lost the mobo isn't shorting on anything so......HELP!!!!!!! pls!!

2. brianF

brianF

Any beep error messages.

Did you configure the jumpers on the motherboard for the correct settings for the processor.

Disconnect everything except the cpu, one stick of memory, vide card, and floppy, put a startup disk in, will it boot.

Reseat the cpu, memory, and video card, will it boot.

3. theedge

theedge Thread Starter

soory, forgot to say no post bleeps.
    have just changed the jumpers from100hz to 133hz, didnt make any difference.

I dont have any sound card or graphics cards at the moment, am using the ones on the MB, jumpers r sent to these.

have stripped and refitted components till Im bored of it. funny tho, the CD ROM only hunts when not connected to the MB

4. brianF

brianF

double check that the cable for the cdrom or floppy isn't connected backwards.

red stripe goes to pin1 on the motherboard and the drive.

front side bus should be set at 100, multiplier to 9

5. theedge