1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: new cpu-power runs, no boot & won't turn off with switch

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Enbee, Jan 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Enbee

    Enbee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    :confused: Need Help Please..

    Was running a p4 celeron 1.8 -- 512mb ram -- replaced cpu with p4 2.8 compatible with motherboard (i looked it up). When I tried to power up with the new cpu power came on, fans were running, but that is all. Also it won't turn off with front switch; have to turn off with rear switch.
    I checked all connections, wires, etc .. . all looks ok.

    Any suggestions??? Would be greatly appreciated!!!!
    Thanks,
    Enbee
     
  2. schusterjo

    schusterjo

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,182
    Yes, post your specs hear, motherboard manufacturer/model and your bios version.
    May need to update bios to run that cpu but let us check before you go trying a risky bios update.

    By the way will the old cpu still work and the computer boot?
     
  3. Enbee

    Enbee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    good question.... will try and let you know
     
  4. Enbee

    Enbee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    ok... i put the old cpu back in, and the computer worked just fine

    ECS P4S5A/Dx+ 400/533 motherboard
    Intel Celeron 2.0Ghz
    768MB RAM
    NVidia GeForce 2 MX 400
    cd rom
    cd writer
    c-media sound device
    sis 900 ethernet adapter
    keyboard
    mouse

    American Megatrends AMIBIOS (C)2001
    P4S5A/DX+ Release 2/13/03
    62-0213-00101111-040201-SiS64X-P4S5ADX
     
  5. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    On the processor there should be an sSpec number for example SL6WT. What is the sSpec number on your 2.8 Ghz. P4 processor?
     
  6. Enbee

    Enbee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Looks like SL88G
     
  7. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
  8. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    You would need to find a socket 478 P4 processor, 533FSB with an 0.13 micron core which would be a Northwood core.

    Ideally, if you are running Windows XP if you could find a socket 478 P4, 3.06Ghz. 533 FSB with a 0.13 micron core (Northwood) this would be your best processor since it supports HyperThreading and is the only 533FSB processor Intel made that supported HyperThreading.
     
  9. Enbee

    Enbee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    I believe you are correct Win2kpro... I have the original box from the retailer which indicates the appropriate processor, but the cpu itself does not match the packaging :( The packaging says the cpu is 2.8A Northwood, but according to the sSpec #, the actual cpu is a 2.8 Prescott. Looks like it's my loss. - - - But thank you for your assistance, and I will learn to look a lot CLOSER next time.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536077

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice