1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: New home-build doesn't produce video on power-up

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Riverglen, Mar 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Riverglen

Riverglen Thread Starter

First Name:
    Larry
    I've been asked to help a friend's son get his newly built machine running. I haven't seen the machine yet, but the problem seems to be that the machine isn't sending any video signal to the monitor.

I have no experience with putting a machine together. So I asked him some basic questions about the components he used to build the machine and a little more info on the symptoms of the problem. The following is the information I got back:

I asked him what he based is component selections on, and what he chose - -

I researched and selected the parts by hand, as well as with advice from others.

My cpu is an Intel I5-4670k.
    That's cooled by a corsair h100i water cooler.
    My gpu is an Asus 760.
    I've got 2 sticks of corsair ram at 4gb a piece.
    My motherboard is an Asus ROG maximus VI gene.
    Other than that it's pretty standard with an optical drive, a 1 tb hard drive. And a 120gb ssd.

In response to my questions regarding what symptoms he is getting - -

When I boot it up certain fans spin including the power supply, the gpu, and a few to cool the case but some in the case
    don't spin.
    The motherboard lights up but doesn't beep.
    The monitor is brand new and displays a blue screen when inactive it just doesn't recognize that anything is connected
    to it.