1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: New ISP, setting up router.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ACA529, Apr 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Hi,

    I am trying to configure my router for my new Cable internet and I need to know what I should set the MTU to. It's default is 1500. Is that a good setting?

    Also, do I need a username/pass for setting up Cable like I do DSL?

    Thanks.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    It is for a standard cable account using a DOCSIS compliant modem (almost all cable systems).

    No user name/password. Occasionally, a cable company will configure for a specific MAC address for the machine connected to the modem, but that's pretty much been abandoned by the major players and they just key off the MAC address of the modem.

    Basic setup for a router in a cable network is simple, then you configure the wireless to your requirements.

    Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.

    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    Any computers attached to the wired connections should now be connected if they're configured at the installation defaults with DHCP enabled.
     
  3. Thalaric

    Thalaric

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Also,

    In your TCP/IP settings, ensure you have it setup to "Obtain IP address automatically."

    I dont know how many times I have help people who just left DSL with static IP to a router and still have old IP info inside.
     
  4. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Thanks.

    And Thanks John!!
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)

    [​IMG]
     
  6. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Worked great John, thanks.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/701568

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice