Solved: new mobo?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cell

Thread Starter
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
164
im lookin to upgrade my motherboard. i have a 2.8ghz p4 800fsb anybody got any good suggestions for a good motherboard. if anyone knows of a good cpu/mobo combo deal for a p4 let me know. ill use the 2.8 if its better and use the other cpu to build my sister a computer. thanks for any suggestions
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Check out some of the mobo/cpu combos at outpost.com
 

Cell

Thread Starter
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
164
hey i have a frys right up the road from my house!!

what are some things i should look for in a good motherboard. obviously i would need to look for a 800fsb but anything new out there that would increase performance??
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Try to stay away from the ECS boards they have there. I blew through (literally) two of them. I still have the cpus, thank God, as they are the most expensive parts ;)

The last combo I got there was an MSI board, it is a very nice board and I'm still happy with it. I have a 2.8 chip in it, as that was 'almost' state of the art at the time ;)
 

Cell

Thread Starter
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
164
i have an msi board too but i am not sure i am happy with it. its the neo pt 800.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
That's the one I have too, what don't you like about it?
 

Cell

Thread Starter
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
164
it just seems like i have a hard time getting everything to be recognized (hdd's and drives) no matter how i have them set up. i make sure all the jumpers are set properly but it seems like its still a pain. i still havent gotten my sata drive to show up.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I don't think that has anything to do with the board. Did you follow the instructions on setting up a SATA drive?
 

Cell

Thread Starter
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
164
im pretty sure i did. but i cant check it because my floppy isnt working so i cant use the sata boot disk. i tried to download the files and do it that way but it still didnt work. i think that there might be something in the bios i havent done...not sure though.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I don't have any SATA drives installed, but, yes, I believe there are some changes that need to be made in the bios setup too. Don't you have the motherboard manual? My MSI board is in Mexico, I'm currently in Las Vegas, I have a SOYO board here.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
So you have Windows Installed on an IDE drive? If Windows is running go to Device Manager and see if there are any errors. Is the SATA drive listed there under the drives? Is Disk Management seeing the drive?
 

Cell

Thread Starter
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
164
haha i didnt mean for duplicate threads to run. i wanted this one to be about getting a new mobo and what was a good kind. kinda ended up on the same topic though.

sorry :( ill mark this one solved
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top