Solved: New office with free internet - How do I use a network printer?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

SteveOoh

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
5
Hi folks.

I'm sure this will be an easy one for you,

I have just moved into a new office and I have free internet, but I would like to set-up my network multi function printer in the same office.

How can I do it?

I don't have a router in my office I just have the socket (presumably from the building owners cabinet).

Adding another network card
I tried removing the internet cable from my PC and setting up the printer by creating a TCP port but it didn't work. (I used to do this with my HP 1050tn).

Router
I tried adding a router but that didn't work either.

Any help appreciated.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
Router
I tried adding a router but that didn't work either.
make and model of the router

You may want to talk to the IT dept for the office re - connecting a router

Is this office a shared service - like regus , I have used there offices a few times and they often supply one LAN connection but also allow routers to connect

how many ports do you have available in the office
 

SteveOoh

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
5
Hi Etaf.

The router was a SAGEM it was used with my SKY broadband,

It isn't a Regis office, its an office at the rear of another office.
It's nothing flash and there are no IT guys I'm afraid.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
if you connect a PC to the network and it works correctly - would you then post an ipconfig /all




------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

SteveOoh

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
5
The router was duff Etaf.
I took an older router down and it worked straight away.

thanks for your help anyway
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner.
:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top