1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: New RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by lastrachris, Jan 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lastrachris

    lastrachris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    I am still pretty ammaturish about hardware and such, but I installed new RAM, two 1GB sticks along with the ones I already had, and I want to see if it actually worked. I notice a difference already, but I'm not sure if it is just physiological or not. I am running Windows 7 and Linux Mint on the computer, so if anyone could just direct me to a method of testing if my computer has sped up or not, it would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,255
    First Name:
    Wayne
    as the PC starts you should see how to get into the bios - F2, F10 or del key are often used
    once in the bios you will see how much is used
    otherwise
    in windows 7
    start
    control panel
    system
    should tell you the memory windows sees - Note if windows 7 is 32bit - this will be around 3GB as thats all 32bit can see with the reserved memory for hardware - making a totla of 4gb

    or you can run www.belarc.com - that will give you full details
    or goto http://www.crucial.com/ and do a scan

    hope that helps
     
  3. lastrachris

    lastrachris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Thanks, Yeah I was debating doing a reformat with Windows 7 x64 but I decided not to because Mint lets me use all of it. My boot up is instant now though. I am also trying to install a new CD drive on my computer. The tower has a slot for expansion but there is a metal plate behind it that's not allowing me to insert the drive. I was scared to punch it out, but it looks like that's what I might have to do?
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,291
    One other thing you can do is to install core temp and the core temp gadget for win7. This shows you temps as well as showing the amount of ram used and available. I find this a VERY useful app/gadget.
    http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/
     
  5. lastrachris

    lastrachris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    I have a GM5420 Gateway. I'm trying to install a new CD drive, but there is a metal sheet in the way. I don't know if I can punch it out, or I have to unscrew it. I''m scared to do either because I heard someone had cut their hand open doing it.
     
  6. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,482
    u need to remove that plate........ usually push and pull until it breaks free
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,255
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the plates are sometimes screwed on - and its quite simple to unscrew
    OR
    the are held in with little bits of metal still left on after the pressing and you have to break the plate free

    this shows from the inside and you can just see the backplate and tab connections
    http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgu...&ndsp=30&ved=1t:429,r:4,s:62&biw=1600&bih=755
    and here
    http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgu...dsp=29&ved=1t:429,r:25,s:219&biw=1600&bih=755

    this shows from the front
    http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgu...dsp=32&ved=1t:429,r:13,s:248&biw=1600&bih=755
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,291
    If I had a dollar for every time I cut myself working inside a case, I would be pretty well off now.
     
  9. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    Ill have to second that, I think I get some kind of cut or scrape every time :eek:
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved
  1. winpc
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    161
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975252

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice