Solved: New satellite internet/ crossover network won't work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Whittibo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
1,207
My original network was with an old computer and I used a 60' crossover cable to connect them.

Bought the kids a better computer and kept the same crossover network, it worked, I already had it, cheaper then buying a router.

Today I got HughesNet satellite service installed and I can't seem to set up the network. The installer told me it would just "reset" itself, but that didn't happen.

The HughesNet site has very limited info, but it did give me static IP addresses to use, which did provide some connectivity, but we couldn't collect emails on the 'other' computer.

So I tried to put the IP addresses in on my end, and now we have NO connectivity.

I called HughesNet but they don't help with networking. *sigh* Can anyone help me get this connection up??
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Howdy Whittibo...

I'll try ( even though I hate ICS )...

What operating systems are you using ( both host pc and client )?
 

Whittibo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
1,207
Oh, I have no clue what a ICS is. :s Hope it's not horrible.

I am running WinXP on both computers. Right now I am getting the message "limited or no connectivity".

If for some reason getting a router and wireless set up would be best, I know it's an expense, and really don't want to pay more since I just paid out $536 for the dish today... but I will be in town tomorrow and can get something then.

I haven't gone wireless before because we do have a mfg home, and it's notorious for having "issues" with electronics because of all the metal in the underneath of the house. The computers are (mine and my kids) about 50' away from one another if that makes any difference to anyone in the universe or beyond. :)

Oh, I have an internal Ethernet (sp?) that is what my kids computer is plugged into. Today I installed a PCI Ethernet card which is what the satellite is plugged into. (just trying to give any info that might be relevant).
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
ICS =Internet Connection Sharing, which is what it sounds like you are trying to setup...

Bought the kids a better computer and kept the same crossover network, it worked, I already had it, cheaper then buying a router.
When it worked before the other pc was able to access the Internet, correct?

If that's the case, click on Start - Run in the box type in cmd hit enter - in the command prompt type in ipconfig /all right click - select all, and post the results back here. Do this on both pc's...

Oh, and excuse my rudeness for not saying HI back. Been a bit of an odd day today.
:) Don't worry about it, been there done that ;)...
 

Whittibo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
1,207
ICS =Internet Connection Sharing, which is what it sounds like you are trying to setup...


Ahhh... is there a better way? Yes, I just want the kids computer to be able to access mine for the internet connection AND printer.

Yes, before the satellite was installed, while using a dial up connection, the network worked flawlessly.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : bonnie
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR FA311 Fast Ethernet Adapter
#2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-09-5B-09-1B-12
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 66.82.4.8
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 19, 2007 5:51:36 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 20, 2007 5:51:36 P
M

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-47-FB-21-8A
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.52.146
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Whittibo said:
ICS =Internet Connection Sharing, which is what it sounds like you are trying to setup...


Ahhh... is there a better way? Yes, I just want the kids computer to be able to access mine for the internet connection AND printer.

Yes, before the satellite was installed, while using a dial up connection, the network worked flawlessly.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : bonnie
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR FA311 Fast Ethernet Adapter
#2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-09-5B-09-1B-12
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 66.82.4.8
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 19, 2007 5:51:36 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 20, 2007 5:51:36 P
M

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-47-FB-21-8A
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.52.146
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
Is this from both pc's ?

Or just the host pc (the one connected to the satelite)?

Ahhh... is there a better way? Yes, I just want the kids computer to be able to access mine for the internet connection AND printer.
Yes...get a router:D...
 

Whittibo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
1,207
That was just mine/the host. I tried to email myself the one from the kids computer, but *duh* the connection isn't up. LOL!! I am such a freaking dork some times.

I will go write down everything and retype it. It will take a few minutes. :)
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Ok a few more questions (I'm sure there will be more :D, but I think I see what is going on)...

The host pc (your pc) it is connecting to the internet, yes/no?

Can you post the make and model # of the satelite modem you are using (what your pc is connecting to, other than the client pc (the kids pc))...
 

Whittibo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
1,207
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kids
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection :

Connection-specific DNS :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel<R> RRO/100 VE Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-11-3E-08-EE
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : NO
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

I hope I got that all right.
 

Whittibo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
1,207
Jedi_Master said:
The host pc (your pc) it is connecting to the internet, yes/no?

Can you post the make and model # of the satelite modem you are using (what your pc is connecting to, other than the client pc (the kids pc))...
Yes, mine is connecting.

The name on the back is Hughes Model # HN7000s
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Hmmm...crap...

To be honest it would be easier with this modem to get a switch or router...

You see this modem appears to have it's own built in DHCP server (BTW the link you provided brought me to a login page, but I googled it ;) ), and XP's ICS is a DHCP server as well (which you can't shut off), and the two can't work together...

Here's some more info on how to setup the network with that modem...

http://kb.hughesnet.com/al/12/2/1289.htm#DW6000 NAT Router

If you go that route you will have to also change the crossover cable to a standard cable (or if you know someone who is in the networking field, they could just change the ends)...
 

Whittibo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
1,207
SHOOT! now that really sucks.

I know just the cable alone is $30. *sigh*

So is there any use in trying to take these steps in that set up link? Or should I save myself the stress and just get the stuff tomorrow to set this up differently? Oh, this makes me very sad. :(

I would assume wireless setups would be more costly?? Would it be worth it to go that route? Makes me mad because I just bought this stupid cable. :( oh well.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Well...

We can try a few things, not sure it's going to work...

First things first...

This is going to take some trial and error (probably a bunch of errors), we need to get the kid's pc and yours talking together first, and right now according to the IP's their not...

Disconnect the cable from your pc to the Internet...

Try on your pc, on the Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection let's set a static IP of 192.168.0.100 subnet of 255.255.255.0 default gateway of 192.168.0.1, for now leave the DNS as obtain automatically...

On the kid's pc select Obtain IP automatically, and DNS automatically...

Once that is done try an ipconfig /all on the kid's pc and see if it gets an IP in the 192.168.0.xxx range, if it does we're golden, if not we need to re-setup ICS on the host (your pc), to get them talking...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top