1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: New Seagate 3TB hard drive doesn't show up in My Computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dst79, Dec 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dst79

    dst79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I recently purchased a Seagate Backup Plus 3TB hard drive with USB 3.0 connector. I connected the 3.0 cable to a 2.0 port(don't have 3.0 ports) and windows popped up saying installing drivers for new device, pretty standard stuff. After it was done I went to My Computer, but the hard drive does not show up.

    I checked device manager, and it does show the drive there. When I clicked properties and tried populating the "volumes" section, a 2.8tb section did show up, but had no label, but i don't know the significance of that. Any help with this is appreciated, thanks in advance.

    ~Dev
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,640
    What is the status in Drive Management?

    It sounds like the drive simply isn't partitioned or formatted. But most external drives ship formatted.
     
  3. dst79

    dst79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Status: Online
    and it is partitioned. And as I read on the box, it is suppose to have the install files for the Seagate Dashboard already on it, so it had to be formatted and partitioned.
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    in disk management give it a drive letter
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Try removing all volumes on the drive in Disk Management. Create new one(s).

    Drives will only appear in explorer if they can be mounted, and that means that they contain a file system recognized by Windows.

    What sizes are the current partitions? If any is over 2 GB, you will need to re-initialize the drive and use GPT partitioning to access it in Windows.
     
  6. dst79

    dst79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    This is how it looks in device manager:
    [​IMG]

    Now the its a 2.8tb partion so that might be the problem.

    On a side note, because this might be important, I have another 1tb external hard drive that i have been using for over a year, that i have split up into 3 partions. Recently, i can only access the videos partion, the others showing up in device manager, but not on my computer.

    [​IMG]
    I only bring this up because the unlisted partions look the same so that might be the problem, but like i said, this is a very recent problem.
     
  7. managed

    managed Allan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,360
    Post a screen-shot of Disk Management (Start > Run type DISKMGMT.MSC press Enter).

    Increase the size of it's window if necessary to show all the info.
     
  8. dst79

    dst79 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you. When I opened DiskMGMT I right clicked the partion and gave it a drive letter, after which I fixed not only my 3tb hd but my 1tb as well. They both instantly showed up in my computer. Just a follow up question, can you think of a reason that they weren't given drive letters automatically?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1079145