1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: New to wireless need info

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mecury_2001, Jul 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mecury_2001

mecury_2001 Thread Starter

sorry if this is not posted in the right thread feel free to banish it :eek: :confused: okay the title just about says it all. I am new to wireless and will be traveling
    how do i connect via hot spots? i have signed up with my cell phone provider for internet access my laptop has express 54/34 slot. it also has 802.11a/b/g/n (draft 802.11n) WLAN & Bluetooth what are the steps to be taken to insure internet access? other than ATM fiber optic :rolleyes:

Thanks in advance to all those who chose to reply or even peruse this thread.

2. jmwills

jmwills

Does your software show any signal(s) available?

3. mecury_2001

Yes, I receive excellent signal strength via my dlink wireless router at home, have not tried connecting via my cell phone (because i am not sure how, :confused: and do not know if i need a pc card for my laptop) I am also paired with my pc and cell phone via bluetooth

Thanks for your response jmwills

4. jmwills

jmwills

Forget the cellphone as speed will be hopelessly slow. Does the laptop have a wireless card?

Control Panel>Network Connection> ....what is in there ?
    (The 1394 connection is your firewire connection so ignore that one).

5. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

It depends on the cellphone service. Verizon has service that approaches 1mbit. However, it's a dedicated PC card for the laptop, not through the phone. Some phones have modem capability, but we'd have to know a lot more about the specific make/model, as well as the service provided.

6. mecury_2001