1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: NEWBIE--sp3, cmd, regedit, and execute programs

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bcdinh, Jan 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bcdinh

bcdinh Thread Starter

hi everyone,

this is my first time posting in this forum. PLEASE HELP!!!

i have a Sony Vaio PCG-7D2L - Window XP Home Edition.

1. i just recently installed sp3 and it crashed. after it crashed i can't access run --> "cmd", "regedit" or execute any programs.

2. every time i open a program i usually get a "open with" pop up menu tell me to select a program.
    (please see below)

3. also get a "rundl32.exe" pop up error

4. i can watch DVD with my CD/ROM but when i try to reformat my system using XP_OS in BIOS it won't detect my CD/ROM drive.

$$$ can someone please verify my procedures to access BIOS correctly?

* before the system boot up...hit F2
    **arrow to boot tab
    ***i don't see any option for a CD/ROM (the only thing i can see are-- floppy disk, hard disk, network...)
    ****normally, i insert XP OS into the CD/ROM trying to view the disk --- the disk is empty but when i
    open it w/ a different computer i can view these files.

can someone please let me out??? thank you in advance for all your help!

[​IMG]

2. Phantom010

Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

Try this fix: EXEFIX

Save the .reg file to your desktop. Double-click it to merge it to the registry.

Reboot.

If the fix only opens as a text file, right-click it and select Open With > Choose Program... Then, select the Registry Editor.

If the Registry Editor is not in the list, browse to C:\WINDOWS and select regedit.

3. bcdinh

bcdinh Thread Starter