1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: NIC Problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by amielito, Oct 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. amielito

amielito Thread Starter

:)Hi! I'm a newbie, and I need help...hope anyone can help me...
    I'm having problem with my SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter, it's built-in to the mainboard. A notification Icon says that it is connected even though there's no actual cable attached to it. My DSL Modem/Router could not even detect it when I insert the connector cable so I can't connect to the Internet. This is not happening before. I found a temporary solution to this... disable-enable...disable-enable...disable-enable the NIC until the Modem detects it by chance, and I get connected. I don't think it is ruined since it functions perfectly once the modem detected it. But another weird thing happens when I turn off the Modem...the notification icon will indicate disconnected for a short while, then it gets connected again, I guess to nothing...
    Does anyone have an Idea why this weird thing is happening? Is it software related? not hardware, perhaps malware? I used SpyBot Search & Destroy but no luck. I don't want to spend time formatting my PC, perhaps there's another way to fix this, I guess... Thansk for any help...

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

When it's indicating it's connected with no cable, please do this.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.