1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) NIS 2003 Stops Win XP Pro SP1 Windows Update?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by geoand, Apr 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. geoand

    geoand Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Hi,

    Symantec seem to have a problem with Norton Internet Security 2003 blocking the Windows Update Page - not very handy if you want to keep your system updated.

    I'm running Win. XP Pro SP1 with all updates so far until I recently installed NIS 2003. Symantec's solution is to UNINSTALL NIS => Update Windows => REINSTALL NIS afterwards - during this period your system is like an open door. Am I missing something here??


    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPOR...2dd3f0d5c9e3861165256c470073981f?OpenDocument

    =======================================
    Error: "You must be running a Microsoft Windows operating system in order to use Windows Update"

    Situation:
    Microsoft Windows and Office updates do not work after installing Norton Internet Security( NIS) 2003. While trying to install the Windows Update, the following error message appears, "Thank you for your interest in Windows Update. The Windows Update is the online extension of Windows that helps you get the most out of your computer. You must be running a Microsoft Windows operating system in order to use Windows Update". When NIS is disabled, both updates work fine.

    Solution:
    This problem has been reported to Symantec Technical Support, but we have not been able to reproduce the problem. The cause is not known, and there is no solution at this time. We will continue to track this problem, and this document will be updated if new information becomes available or a solution is found.

    Workaround:
    As a workaround, uninstall NIS 2003, run the updates for the Microsoft Windows and Office products, and then reinstall NIS 2003.
    ======================================

    DOES ANYBODY HAVE A MORE SECURE IDEA THAN THIS ONE FROM SYMANTEC? Thanks.
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    can you d/load them manually from the corp site until they get a fix for the problem
     
  3. geoand

    geoand Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Hi Dai,

    I've only ever used the 'Windows Update' site - can you give me the web site url for "corp" or is dead easy to find?

    Thanks!
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,219
    First Name:
    Derek
    Other people have had the same problem, with other sites that depend on the browser referral headers.

    one fix might be to turn off the privacy control, specifically the browser referral blocking options and system details. whilst updating windows


    Unfortunately you can only get to the corporate site via standard update now.
     
  6. geoand

    geoand Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Many thanks for your suggestions. However, even with the NIS Privacy Control disabled it still wouldn't let me access the web site provided by Dai.

    I'm loathe to disable NIS entirely, especially when the MS Updates are so large - with a 56K modem updating is a pretty slow business. It seems like Catch 22, you have disable your security to retrieve Critical Updates to make your OS more secure. The logic escapes me.:confused:
     
  7. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    check your modems setting page and make sure you have the lan proxy setting unticked this can cause update site not to work
     
  8. geoand

    geoand Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Sorry Dai,

    You've lost me? Where exactly do I find the 'lan proxy' settings - I'm using a 56K USB modem - it's not something I'm familiar with I'm afraid.

    I can reach the MS Windows Update url ok if I totally disable NIS, does that not indicate it's not my modem settings??:confused:

    Thanks for your help!
     
  9. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    i no longer have a 56 modem installed but when i was having trouble with windows update ms told me to untick the lan proxy which i did and it fixed the problem immediately from memory when you were in the section where you enter the phone details for your isp connection at the bottom it had the lan config or you clicked on a button to go into the lan config it had a box you ticked if you used a proxy on the lan somehow mine had got ticked so i unticked it and everything was fine.the corp site still works they closed the original site then opened this current one,sorry this is the best i can remember
     
  10. geoand

    geoand Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    I've looked at just about every modem option I can see, no obvious signs of a 'lan proxy' setting. I don't have a network card - is that why I can't find it?

    Thanks for your input but I'm none the wiser!
     
  11. buf

    buf

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,998
  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,219
    First Name:
    Derek
    Unfortunately, M$ have changed their updating system for XP and newer Op systems.

    Now it auto detects the op system and refers you to the corect page for your system, there is no way to bypass the entry page as all the content pages are made up using asp and a ferame set from the entry page.

    NIS is blocking the computer and browser information, so M$ are quite rightly blocking access to a site that is only intended fopr certain op systems.

    The fault is with NIS and the only way to overcome it will be to turn off the parts of NIS who are blocking.
     
  13. geoand

    geoand Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Thanks folks,

    It looks like I've invested unwisely with NIS 2003 - I wish I'd checked through this forum *before* buying as there are lots of Symantec grumbles littering the input from others. Oh well, I'm stuck with it now until Symantec or MS get it sorted.

    I did manage to download & install 2 critical updates for XP SP1 [IE & OE] from here:

    http://www.windowsxpforums.com/

    It's a step in the right deirection.
     
  14. buf

    buf

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,998
    dvk01:
    I didn't know that about MS!! Thanks for sharing with me this info.
    Sneaky little devils aren't they. Seriously tho, maybe that is good because only the info for each OS, as detected by the MS software, is then shown.

    geoand:
    I also have the NIS 2003 but have not installed it---yet. I have had NIS 2000, 2001 and have been running 2002 for more than a year now. Pretty much trouble free once you successfully setup the firewall. The truth be known, I bought it at almost no cost because of rebates and I was primarily interested in the AV. The 2003 only cost me $4 after rebates so I am not a big loser there.
    May just keep 2002 and pay the annual virus definitions update fee.
    I have just recently begun to have a problem with the scanning of outgoing OE5.5 SP2 email. The scan window appears but after maybe a minute I get the message that my ISP connection was lost. Tells me to re-send and I do and the mail is then sent. :( I haven't been able to sort out that problem :confused:
    If you are intent on using NIS, search some on the software sales sites and you may just find the NIS2002 CD for a very few $$. Good hunting and good luck.
     
  15. buf

    buf

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,998
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - (Solved) 2003 Stops
  1. Golferbk
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    222
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/131141

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice