1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: No Adapters Listed under Broadcom Wireless

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Complextlt, Dec 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Complextlt

    Complextlt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Turion(tm) 64 Mobile Technology ML-40, x86 Family 15 Model 36 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 958 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series, 64 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 69303 MB, Free - 39138 MB; D: Total - 6991 MB, Free - 3631 MB;
    Motherboard: Gateway,
    Antivirus: Trend Micro Titanium Internet Security, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

    My wireless stopped working. I had problems in the past, not sure how I got to work then. But the other day after handling the modem/router-combo, I guess it became unplugged. I plugged it back in and have not had wireless since. I turned off computer, restarted. My wireless network is not even listed. I can connect vie ethernet. No adapter is listed under Broadcom Wireless.

    Any ideas? :(
     
  2. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    55,646
    First Name:
    Mike
    Well if your computer doesn't recognize the wireless chip, that would be a good place to start..Are you able to connect to a hard wire?
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the make and model of router
    does it have a wireless light on the front and if so - is that on solid/flashing or OFF

    lets see a device manager screen shot, a xirrus screen shot and an ipconfig /all - all details below


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen on laptops may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key
    if not then

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Complextlt

    Complextlt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    My router is a Netgear advanced cable modem gateway CGD24G, the wireless light is on solid

    ipconfig/all:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VACATIONLAPTOP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-B8-B6-4B-C6
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.10
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 97.64.209.36
    97.64.168.13
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 17, 2011 2:58:19 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 17, 2011 3:58:19 PM

    Xirrus:
    I tried to access my wireless network from my ipod touch, but it says it can't find that network. The network is no longer listed on my laptop either.

    I have attached 3 .jpg files, the first is the screen shot of network adapters.
    The second is a screen shot of the network adapters after I have chosen to view "Hidden devices".
    The third is a screen shot of further down the plug and play list where there are exclamation points next to two of the devices.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    none attached

    if the ipod cannot see the wireless - then we have a problem on the router

    i will look up the router details

    EDIT
    BUT
    There is no wireless adapter shown in that ipconifg /all
    is that the full details of ipconfig /all

    lets see the jpgs again
     
  6. Complextlt

    Complextlt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Sorry - okay, the original attachments were too big. they should be attached now.

    Here's the ipconfig/all again. I used the "select all" function. That's all there is.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VACATIONLAPTOP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-B8-B6-4B-C6
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.10
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 97.64.209.36
    97.64.168.13
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 17, 2011 3:58:21 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 17, 2011 4:58:21 PM
     

    Attached Files:

  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so you have a red mark - is that a cross on the wireless adapter
    if you right click on the adapter can you "enable"
     
  8. Complextlt

    Complextlt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Yes, it gave me a message of "unable to find a certificate to log you on", and it keeps trying to "validate identity", that's why i had disabled it.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see an xirrus screen shot as per my post above
    you may have IEEE 802.1x authentication for this network set up

    perhaps we should start at the router as you "fiddled"

    this is the router - correct
    http://www.netgear.com/images/cgd24g_ds_06june0818-4784.pdf
    user manual here
    http://support.netgear.com/app/products/model/a_id/9439

    it would be worth logging into the router and posting some screen shots / check all the setting for the wireless section

    how many device connect to the router by wireless ?
     
  10. Complextlt

    Complextlt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Sorry it has been so long. So much was happening through the holidays.

    Okay - some new info... I think I really screwed up. I had removed Broadcom wireless completely through the Add/Remove programs thinking I could just re-install it. I'm guessing that was a huge mistake!

    So my ISP came out and checked out the modem/router and I can now access the wireless with my iphone 4s (christmas present, yay!) So, there IS a wireless connection - just not on my laptop. But he is going to replace the modem/router on Tuesday, which is good, because it's a flimsy thing anyway. But, I didn't think to tell him about the Broadcom thing and I don't think he checked it (don't think that he would be allowed to anyway).

    So, I contacted gateway, they sent me the link to download the driver. I followed the instructions and extracted the files to the C:\Cabs folder. Then I clicked RUN and typed C:\BCM_REL_4_100_15_5_WHQL\is. When I do that, a message pops up saying that location is unavailable. So, now I don't know what to do. (By the way, I don't know what any of this jargon means, haha).

    I hope you are still available and willing to help. Thank you so much!:eek:

    EDIT - so I came back about an hour after I sent this message, and guess what? My wireless is now working on my laptop. So random. I have no idea what is going on..........
     
  11. Complextlt

    Complextlt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I went ahead and attached 2 Xirrus screen shots. Caspernet is my network.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    its all working OK now - correct

    you dont need the broadcom software utility - you can let windows manage the adapter - you do need the adapter loaded

    Sounds like you installed the adapter after all

    if your happy everything is working

    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  13. Complextlt

    Complextlt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I'm pretty sure I didn't do it, because I never finished the steps to do so...maybe windows did it? Or maybe it really is the modem/router - and it just decided to start working again...Whatever the case, I'm happy I have wireless at the moment, but am waiting for it to stop working again. I'll go ahead and mark this thread solved. If, after the modem/router is replaced, the wireless stops working again, I'll come back again.

    Thank you for your patience, etaf. Many best wishes!

    Tracy:)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031578

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice