1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: No Boot Screen, No Nuthin'

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by halcour, Apr 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. halcour

    halcour Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    One of our computers at work won't boot. Nothing comes up on the screen, there are no "beeps", nothing. It just sits there w/the drives being accessed, fans running.

    I've replaced the video card as that was going bad, but it didn't fix it.

    Any help appreciated,
    Harold
     
  2. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    I've had the same problem with one of my desktops. My problem was my hard drive died. If anything, make sure you reconnected all your cabels after you installed that new video card.
     
  3. halcour

    halcour Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    You're saying you didn't get a boot screen w/a bad hd? I don't understand that. A computer doesn't even need a hd installed to go thru the initial boot screen in my experience. Then it either boots from the cd/dvd drive or you get a hd error msg.

    Harold
     
  4. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    My mistake, I meant motherboard.
     
  5. halcour

    halcour Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Yeah, I'm thinking the mb is probably shot.

    Thanks,
    H
     
  6. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Dont give up yet, wait for some more troubleshooting posts.
     
  7. halcour

    halcour Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Tried another monitor, still nothing. So that's not it.

    H
     
  8. halcour

    halcour Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Re-seated the memory modules and it's up and running peachy-keen!

    Thanks,
    Harold
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/703885

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice