1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: No Connections Available - Media Disconnected

Discussion in 'Networking' started by GelflingLady, Jan 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    My dad just had to send his Acer Aspire back to the manufacturer to get the fan replaced. It came back factory reset and would not connect to any internet wired or otherwise. He called me and I asked him to bring it over.

    I can get it to connect to via Ethernet at my house, however, wireless is a no go. The status bar goes between "no connection available" to showing my network with two bars. When I attempt to connect to my network I get the standard "Window was unable to connect to this network". I currently have another PC, a PS3, a smart phone, and a tablet all connected with no problem (and all at full bars), so I know it's not the router. I ran an ipconfig /all and this is what I got:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Tabu-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B125 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 9C-B7-0D-1B-E1-A4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ritternet.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : DC-0E-A1-2F-0B-21
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{0FAA0BD5-C524-4889-B130-F3121EB029CA}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.ritternet.com:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>

    One thing I did notice is that my IP Routing Enabled was set to NO and when I looked at how to fix that it said to update a registry key. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\ Services\Tcpip\Parameters\IPEnableRouter
    Well guess what? I don't have that key. Is there a way to get it? Any help is majorly appreciated.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an xirrus screen shot - see below

    also
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    At the moment, I'm not getting any signal. I've got the "no connections are available" message right now. There is also no antivirus installed on this computer at the moment, so I don't think I'm dealing with any firewalls or anything.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    theres often a physical switch or a combination of the FN and one of the F keys to toggle the wireless on/off - is the wireless on?
     
  5. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Nope. It's on, one of the first things I checked.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    may be worth checking the wireless adapter and make sure the aerial is connected - sounds like they may have caused the issue in the repair

    often the adapter is under a flap on the bottom of the pc

    another thing to try is - wireless often does not work anyway
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

     
  7. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Did the safe mode thing...no dice. I'm not too keen on taking this thing apart. Can you think of any other software fixes that can be tried? I'd hate to have to tell my dad he has to send this thing back again.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>

    I restarted the system and this time it recognized that there were connections available...for about 3 seconds...then went back to "no connections available"
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see the status of the services - they may be a wireless manager conflict

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Status of Services

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below.

    To do this goto

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Type the following command
    SERVICES.MSC

    OR
    Control Panel>
    Administrative Tools>
    Services>

    then for each of the services listed below - Please post back the following status information;
    If the service is set to Started or Stopped
    and
    If the service is set to Automatic or Manual

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation


    If any of those services are not started/running,
    then right click on the service
    then from the menu choose properties and now check the dependencies.

    for each dependency entry - Check each of one of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running/starting.

    ---------
     
  11. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    COM+ Event System (for WZC issues) Started, Automatic
    Computer Browser Blank, Manual
    DHCP Client Started, Automatic
    DNS Client Started, Automatic
    Network Connections Started, Manual
    Network Location Awareness Started, Automatic
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC) Started, Automatic
    Server Started, Automatic
    TCP/IP Netbios helper Started, Automatic
    Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only) N/A, Windows 7
    WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only) Started, Automatic
    Workstation Started, Automatic

    As far as checking the dependencies, Computer Browser was blank. I can get to the dependencies, what exactly am I looking for to see what is preventing the service? Also, Network Connections was Manual, not automatic, would that make a difference?
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no, thats OK
    any other wireless manager - usually in the system tray - bottom right
    make and model of the PC

    dell & HP often have there own running , and

    looking like a call to the repair people
     
  13. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    It's an Acer Aspire 5733z-4633. I know that it has Broadcome Gigabit NetLink Controller installed, but I think that's actually a required bit of software to get internet going on these things. I hate to have to tell my dad that he has to go another two weeks without his computer. And I'm the one that told him to get an Acer. I've never had a problem with mine. Damn. Happy New Year to him I guess.

    Thank you for all of you help etaf. You've been awesome in all of this.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
    I would goto device manager and right click on the adapter and uninstall/remove and then restart the PC and let windows re-detect the hardware and reinstall the driver
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    I did that a couple of times last night. I uninstalled it from the hardware manager then rebooted. It located the software and re installed. I even went so far as to run the factory reset. There were a couple of times where the system recognized my router, but just wouldn't connect...that was last night. This morning it just won't recognize at all; that's why I decided to do the forum thing.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083268

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice