1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: No Connections Available - Media Disconnected

Discussion in 'Networking' started by GelflingLady, Jan 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Oh, and I did try updating the drivers too, no luck with that either.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,084
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're absolutely sure that Acer does not pre-install Norton or McAfee or whatever? Norton for sure, and probably some other security suites, can cause the symptom of not detecting any wireless networks.
     
  3. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    It came with McAfee pre-installed, but I refused the activation at startup then uninstalled the program through the control panel.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  5. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    It says that I have to activate it first. Since I've already uninstalled it, does that mean I have to go through the factory reset again to get it back? I don't really want to use McAfee anyway as AVG has always been the antivirus of choice throughout members of my household.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,084
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're advised to activate it first to preserve your paid (or free trial) subscription. Since there is no intent to use the thing, just run the Removal Tool. :)
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no - it should just uninstall with the removal tool - even if removed - run the toll anyway
    i have run a few times on a non-activated mcafee

    does that mean you avg installed - if so remove that

    AVG Removal Tools
    http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
    http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
     
  8. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    No, I don't have AVG installed yet. I haven't installed anything yet.

    Ok, ran the McAfee uninstaller. Still showing "no connections available". It did look like it wanted to try and find a connection for about half a second though.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,084
    First Name:
    Terry
    Sounding like a defective adapter, but still ...

    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from Acer's web site.

    If the adapter is easily accessible (I know Wayne already posted this) through a cover on the bottom of the laptop remove and reinsert it carefully and firmly to make sure it is not loose. At the same time check to make sure the antenna leads are secure. This is not taking the machine apart. Neither of us recommend removing the keyboard when that is necessary to find the wireless.
     
  10. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Where would I find a schematic to locate it? I don't think I'd even know it if I saw it.

    I've taken apart my fair share of desktops and replaced and upgraded numerous components there, but I have yet to venture into the mysterious world of the inner workings of laptops. I'm a bit nervous I'm gonna screw something up.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,084
    First Name:
    Terry
    I do not know what documentation Acer supplies with the computer or on their web site. There is a maintenance manual for my Dell laptop that shows how to get at almost any component. My HP laptops have a little antenna like icon on the cover over the wireless adapter.

    Here is one picture of the card.
     
  12. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Ok. Well here goes nothing I guess. I do see a section that has a couple of little symbols embossed on it. One looks like a microchip and I can't tell what the other thing is. I'll open it up and see what I can find. I'll post back in a little while.
     
  13. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    So, I think I have an aha! moment here :D. I opened it up and saw IMG372. I touched the plastic that was covering the component and then IMG373 happened. Is is safe to assume that this is the issue?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. GelflingLady

    GelflingLady Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Yep. That was the issue. I reconnected the wire and snapped it back in place. I was worried that it was going to have to be sautered or something, but it was just a snap.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you (both) soooooooooo much for taking the time to work with me. I apologize to you etaf for not taking your advice when you first suggesting opening up the laptop...I could have saved us all some hours in this day; but I do seriously appreciate your willingness to continue giving me options after I didn't want to do that.

    I am starting work in a couple of weeks and once I get my first paycheck I am definitely making a donation to this site. A whole lot of time has been saved thanks to the patience and effort of the volunteers on this site.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,084
    First Name:
    Terry
    (y)(y) Great! You can't imagine how thrilled I am (and probably Wayne too) when it does turn out to be something "simple" like a loose antenna lead! :D Most of the times our next post is something like, "well, guess the adapter is defective."

    You're welcome. :) Good luck in your new job.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083268

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice