Solved: No dial tone for dialup connection.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

red-tab

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
22
I now find that when I connect to the internet via phone I can no longer hear
the dial tone and subsequent connection stuff. I do get a connection and everything
seems fine but the lack of a tone is bothersome. I can't seem to find a panel
that can be used to enable the tone to be heard. I've got XP home with SP2.
The machine is a Toshiba M35X-S163.
Thanks for any help you can give.
Ted
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
6,052
Click Start, click Control Panel
Click Printers and Other Hardware, and then click Phone and Modem Options.
Click Modem tab, your Modem will be hightlighted, select Properties.
On Modem tab under Speaker volume, make sure slider is not off.
 

red-tab

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
22
I tried as you suggested and checked the volume control. It was set at 1/3 so I moved
it to full volume. That didn't seem to work. Any more ideas?.
Thanks. Ted.
 
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
2,548
OK, Ted, try this:

Control Panel => Sounds and Audio Devices
Volume tab => in the Device volume section, click the Advanced button.
Look for 'Phone Line' in the available sliders.
If it isn't there, Click on Options => Properties and check the 'Phone Line' box.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
2,312
Click start > run > type devmgmt.msc and click ok.

Click the + next to modems and right click your modem.

Click the advanced tab, if you see M0 in the extra intialization commands box, that's the cause. You can remove it if you wish, I myself like the sound of silence. :)
 
Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
4,092
You might also like to try this:

Go to network connections/ your isp dialup icon/ right click for properties/ configure button/ and tick the box "enable speaker modem"
 

red-tab

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
22
Still have no dial tone.
I ran the "devmgmt" program but didn't find anything in the extra intilization commands box.
Then went to network connections/AOL ISP/ got the box connect,status....rename,properties
but couldn't bring up the properties screen.
Any ideas?
Thanks again - Ted
 
Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
4,092
red-tab said:
Then went to network connections/AOL ISP/ got the box connect,status....rename,properties
but couldn't bring up the properties screen.
The fact you can't bring up properties could indicate another problem.
 

red-tab

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
22
Hi;
This is way over my head. Can you see anything in this that would keep me from hearing a dial tone when I use my modem?
Thanks. Ted

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MODEM.TXT
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------




12-31-2005 21:15:10.390 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\tapisrv.dll, Version 5.1.2600
12-31-2005 21:15:10.406 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\unimdm.tsp, Version 5.1.2600
12-31-2005 21:15:10.406 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\unimdmat.dll, Version 5.1.2600
12-31-2005 21:15:10.406 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\uniplat.dll, Version 5.1.2600
12-31-2005 21:15:10.453 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\modem.sys, Version 5.1.2600
12-31-2005 21:15:10.453 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\modemui.dll, Version 5.1.2600
12-31-2005 21:15:10.453 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\mdminst.dll, Version 5.1.2600
12-31-2005 21:15:10.453 - Modem type: TOSHIBA Software Modem
12-31-2005 21:15:10.453 - Modem inf path: oem3.inf
12-31-2005 21:15:10.453 - Modem inf section: INTEL_AMR.Modem
12-31-2005 21:15:10.453 - Matching hardware ID: pci\ven_8086&dev_24c6&subsys_00011179
12-31-2005 21:15:10.906 - Opening Modem
12-31-2005 21:15:10.906 - 115200,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
12-31-2005 21:15:10.906 - Initializing modem.
12-31-2005 21:15:10.921 - Send: AT<cr>
12-31-2005 21:15:10.921 - Recv: AT<cr>
12-31-2005 21:15:10.921 - Command Echo
12-31-2005 21:15:10.921 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
12-31-2005 21:15:10.921 - Interpreted response: OK
12-31-2005 21:15:10.937 - Send: AT &F E0 &C1 &D2 V1 S0=0\V1<cr>
12-31-2005 21:15:10.937 - Recv: AT &F E0 &C1 &D2 V1 S0=0\V1<cr>
12-31-2005 21:15:10.937 - Command Echo
12-31-2005 21:15:10.937 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
12-31-2005 21:15:10.937 - Interpreted response: OK
12-31-2005 21:15:10.953 - Send: ATS7=60S30=0L3M1\N3%C1&K3N1\J1X4<cr>
12-31-2005 21:15:10.953 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
12-31-2005 21:15:10.953 - Interpreted response: OK
12-31-2005 21:15:10.953 - Sending user initialization commands.
12-31-2005 21:15:10.968 - Send: ATm1<cr>
12-31-2005 21:15:10.968 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
12-31-2005 21:15:10.968 - Interpreted response: OK
12-31-2005 21:15:10.968 - Session Statistics:
12-31-2005 21:15:10.968 - Reads : 55 bytes
12-31-2005 21:15:10.968 - Writes: 0 bytes
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
2,312
I would uninstall, reinstall the modem. If that doesn't work, visit the modem's manufacturer and download the latest drivers for your modem.

It could also be a bad modem speaker, you may need to purchase a new one.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top