1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Solved] No Explorer in Close Program dialog box

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by mercy, Apr 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mercy

    mercy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    My OS is Win98. Does anyone know how to get Explorer back in the Close Program dialog box? It was there a week ago and somehow has disappeared (I suspect it was right about the same time that I started having problems with my computer shutdown and internet connection).

    I was doing all the usual things to clear up the problems - SpyBot, Norton virus scan, disk clean up, scandisk, defrag, etc. but I couldn't get Defrag to work on the C: drive, although it did defrag my other drives with no problem. I went to Safe Mode and was closing the unnecessary stuff in the Close Program dialog box when I realized that Systray was there but Explorer wasn't. I turned off the computer and started it back up to see if that would put it back but it didn't. Advise from Microsoft.com was to extract the file from the original installation disk - I did that and still there's no Explorer in the Dialog box although it does show up in C:\Windows. I still cannot Defrag drive C: not even in Safe Mode - could the missing Explorer be the reason?

    Thanks
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I have seen some mysterious cases where it does not show up but otherwise all is well. And some cases where a conflict with something else caused it.

    Do you see Explorer there in Safe Mode? And what happens when you try to defrag in Safe Mode?

    Can you give us a copy/paste of a HijackThis Scanlog following directions here...

    http://tomcoyote.com/hjt/
     
  3. mercy

    mercy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Hi, thanks for responding. No, Explorer doesn't show up in the Close Program dialog box anywhere - not even in Safe Mode. Defrag in Safe Mode works on my 3 smaller drives but on the main drive (C) it just hangs in the "Checking the drive for errors" portion and doesn't progress. At one time I just let it go for 3 hrs and it never moved. The other drives were defragged in a matter of minutes.

    I currently have no access to the internet on my system (one of the many problems I'm currently experiencing), but I'll use my husband's computer to download Hijack and I'll post the results for you. I really appreciate your help!
     
  4. mercy

    mercy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Here's the HijackThis log (I hope I did this right, it's the first time I've used HijackThis) - Thanks again for your help!

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 12:49:04 AM, on 4/22/04
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\SYMANTEC\PCAMGT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS 2002\NORTON UTILITIES\NPROTECT.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS 2002\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINJECT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\CIRQUE V1.06\GLIDEW32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TWAIN_32\SIPIX\SCDELUXE\DELUXECC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\AHEAD\INCD\INCD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP 8.1\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://search.ieplugin.com/search.htm
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://search.ieplugin.com/search.htm
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://start.earthlink.net/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://search.ieplugin.com/search.htm
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://search.ieplugin.com/q.cgi?q=%s
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=localhost:8080
    R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - {707E6F76-9FFB-4920-A976-EA101271BC25} - (no file)
    R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - {CFBFAE00-17A6-11D0-99CB-00C04FD64497}_ - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: Pop-Up Blocker - {D7F30B62-8269-41AF-9539-B2697FA7D77E} - C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\PnEL.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Glide] c:\program files\cirque v1.06\glidew32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CriticalUpdate] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickFinder Scheduler] D:\PROGRAM FILES\COREL\WORD PERFECT 7\SHARED\QFINDER7\QFSCHED.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DELUXECC] C:\WINDOWS\twain_32\SiPix\SCDeluxe\DELUXECC.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NPROTECT] D:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks 2002\Norton Utilities\nprotect.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NAVAPW32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Microsoft WebServer] C:\Program Files\WebSvr\System\svctrl /init
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InCD] C:\Program Files\ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [pcAnywhere Agent] D:\Program Files\Symantec\pcamgt.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [NPROTECT] D:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks 2002\Norton Utilities\nprotect.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [CSINJECT.EXE] D:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks 2002\Norton CleanSweep\CSINJECT.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .bcf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPBelv32.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {597C45C2-2D39-11D5-8D53-0050048383FE} (OPUCatalog Class) - http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {0C3F7D74-ADA5-4976-8908-A8189590DAFA} (3DGreetings.com Player 2.0) - http://expressit.broderbund.com/Plugin/3DGreetings/vroom.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {E2F2B9D0-96B9-4B25-B90C-636ECB207D18} - http://www.clock-sync.com/WUInstSYNC.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37877.0699537037
    O16 - DPF: {9522B3FB-7A2B-4646-8AF6-36E7F593073C} (cpbrkpie Control) - http://a19.g.akamai.net/7/19/7125/4019/ftp.coupons.com/v3123/cpbrkpie.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DDFFA75A-E81D-4454-89FC-B9FD0631E726} - http://www.bundleware.com/activeX/DS3/DS3.cab
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    What happens when you try to access the internet? Did Scandisk do a complete scan without errors?

    You do have a search hijack showing there and the CoolWebSearch, of which it may be a variant, has been known to do some strange things.

    Get a copy of the CoolWebShredder, CWShredder.exe from the site below, run it, have it "fix" problems and then reboot.

    http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/downloads.html

    Check and fix these entries in the Scanlog if they remain:

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://search.ieplugin.com/search.htm
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://search.ieplugin.com/search.htm
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://search.ieplugin.com/search.htm
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://search.ieplugin.com/q.cgi?q=%s

    R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - {707E6F76-9FFB-4920-A976-EA101271BC25} - (no file)
    R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - {CFBFAE00-17A6-11D0-99CB-00C04FD64497}_ - (no file)

    You also have a proxy server setting of some kind in place here:

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=localhost:8080

    I would remove all proxy settings and remote servers such as you have showing in the Scanlog until you have the internet access problem resolved.



    HijackThis sees Explorer in the running processes, for what it's worth....

    Also is the file size for Explorer still the same as the decompressed one you extracted? You can do it again to another folder if you want to double check.
     
  6. mercy

    mercy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Not much happens when I try to access the internet. I use Earthlink and the program starts up fine but when IE6 comes on the scene everything goes haywire. The bottom bar on IE6 says "connecting to site 127.0.0.1" and then I get "this page cannot be displayed" although the address bar displays my correct home page. The top of this window says "cannot find server". Oddly enough, I have no problem connecting to Outlook Express - I can receive and send e-mails just fine.

    As far as ScanDisk - both the quick and surface scan indicated absolutely no problems.

    I'm only guessing here but, the proxy server reference might be because I use PCAnywhere (the same line shows up on both my computer and my husbands and his computer works just fine). Nevertheless, I'll remove it until my problems clear up.

    I checked the Explorer.exe file and it's the same as on the original Windows disk. I also compared it to the one on my husband's computer and they are one and the same.

    I'm going to try that CoolWebShredder and I'll remove the entries you suggested from HijackThis. I'll post again then. Once again thank you so very much for your help.
     
  7. mercy

    mercy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    OK, CWShredder came out completely clean. I also removed those entries you suggested from HijackThis and here's the new log. Unfortunately, although my system is getting cleaned up (which is good!), I still cannot connect to the internet or see Explorer in the Close Program dialog box and Explorer is still giving an error message every time I shutdown the system. So, where do I go from here?

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 5:31:18 AM, on 4/22/04
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\CIRQUE V1.06\GLIDEW32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://start.earthlink.net/
    R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - {CFBFAE00-17A6-11D0-99CB-00C04FD64497}_ - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: Pop-Up Blocker - {D7F30B62-8269-41AF-9539-B2697FA7D77E} - C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\PnEL.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Glide] c:\program files\cirque v1.06\glidew32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .bcf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPBelv32.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {597C45C2-2D39-11D5-8D53-0050048383FE} (OPUCatalog Class) - http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {0C3F7D74-ADA5-4976-8908-A8189590DAFA} (3DGreetings.com Player 2.0) - http://expressit.broderbund.com/Plugin/3DGreetings/vroom.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {E2F2B9D0-96B9-4B25-B90C-636ECB207D18} - http://www.clock-sync.com/WUInstSYNC.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37877.0699537037
    O16 - DPF: {9522B3FB-7A2B-4646-8AF6-36E7F593073C} (cpbrkpie Control) - http://a19.g.akamai.net/7/19/7125/4019/ftp.coupons.com/v3123/cpbrkpie.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DDFFA75A-E81D-4454-89FC-B9FD0631E726} - http://www.bundleware.com/activeX/DS3/DS3.cab
     
  8. don_ches

    don_ches

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I met same problem before, when some spyware was installed from internet, try to run antivirus and service pack, this should help.
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    "connecting to site 127.0.0.1" indicates that the site you are trying to connect to is getting reassociated with your own LOCAL computer.

    Typically we see these hijacks configured through the HOSTS file which is revealed in a HijackThis Scanlog when present. I don't see it happening there.

    What is the shutdown error you are receiving?

    A few suggestions:

    1 -- change your home page to something else and see if you get the same message. Try entering this in the Address bar:

    http://207.217.114.200/ or http://24.137.12.200/

    >> do you still see the attempt to connect to 127.0.0.1 ?

    2 -- do a "find files" for hosts and if you find one with NO extension, not hosts.sam or lmhosts.sam, just right click on it and rename it "ghosts".

    3 -- remove and reinstall any Earthlink software. In fact if this is dial-up, you don't need any software at all. Just configure a connection with your dialup number, username and password.
     
  10. mercy

    mercy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Don, thanks for your suggestion; unfortunately, we've already gone through all that - virus check, spyware check, HijackThis, etc. but thanks anyway!

    Rolling Rock - the shutdown error I've been getting since the problems started is "Explorer has caused an invalid page fault in module Kernel32.dll". I must then close out that error box twice (once just brings it up again) and then the computer finally shuts down (or restarts if that's what I had checked). This error only appears during the shutdown process - startup works just fine.

    Now for your suggestions - I tried changing my home page to those sites you gave me and they both gave the same results - 127.0.0.1 at the bottom and "cannot find server" at the top.

    I did find a file named hosts with no extension and it is now a "ghost".

    Let me now try uninstalling Earthlink and connecting through Dial up Networking.

    WOW, Bless you my child - thank you so very much!! Uninstalling Earthlink did the trick. This is the first time I've been able to access the net in weeks! Obviously there is something wrong with the Earthlink software - I'll contact them.

    Since you solved my major problem I hate to even ask about the Explorer error message (but I'll ask anyway!). Any ideas as to how to solve that problem?
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Great to hear about the access being re-established. I can' really say how Earthlink could have caused you to be unable to connect even to a direct IP. If it were a case of DNS resolving servers, which get configured for specific ISP's I would have expected only the "domain names" themselves to be affected. But that's history now.

    Kernel32 errors are "usually" the result of conflicts. But it appears you have a fairly "clean" scanlog right now. The first thing I would do though is clean up the temporary internet cache. Best to do this after a fresh reboot, before opening IE, from the Internet applet in the Control panel. Delete temporary internet files, history and offline content.

    Does the error occur on every shutdown, or just some?

    Since you have Win98SE, I need to know whether you have installed the shutdown patch recommended for it? And there is an IDE Package patch that also affects shutdown problems. If the crashes still occur after both those are installed we will do some "clean boot" troubleshooting.

    Also, sometimes these crashes are related to sound files configured on shutdown. You should go to the Sounds applet in the Control Panel and make sure nothing is enabled there for shutdown.

    Here are the patches:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows98/downloads/contents/WURecommended/S_WUFeatured/Win98SE/Default.asp (there is also a link to a shutdown troubleshooter you might want to review on this page)

    http://www.microsoft.com/Windows98/downloads/contents/WUCritical/q273017/Default.asp

    Are we still without Explorer in the Close Programs window, by the way?
     
  12. mercy

    mercy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    OK, I think we just might be getting this system back on track. I have my IE configured to empty the Temp Internet files each time I close the program so that folder is usually fairly clean. I also keep the Temp folder clean so I'm guessing those two aren't what's causing the Kernel32 error.

    I re-ran NAV and Spybot and then reinstalled Windows98SE. I also installed both the MS IDE patch and the shutdown one you suggested (all other MS updates are installed). And I went ahead and did most of the MS troubleshooter suggestions including downloading/installing an updated video driver and sound card driver (I figured it couldn't hurt).

    I checked my bootlog.txt against what MS says it should look like and did find something different. If I understood MS correctly, if the machine is shutting down properly, the last line on the bootlog.txt should say "EndTerminate = Kernel". The last 2 lines on mine say: "EndTerminate = Reset Display" and "EndTerminate = User". Somewhere in the middle of the bootlog I do have an "Initializing Kernel" but I don't find an "EndTerminate = Kernel" anywhere.

    Not sure if I mentioned this before, but right about the same time that I started getting the shutdown error message, I also started getting the "Windows systems resources dangerously low" message. I would get this regardless of how few programs I had open (sometimes there were none - just system files running). I currently have 512MB of RAM, my system resources hover at around 80% free and my HD has 15GB free. I haven't received this message today, though, so perhaps that's a good sign.

    Now, for the good news - the last few times I've shut down and restarted I have not received the Explorer error message! Don't know if this means the problem has been permanently fixed ... or if the system is just toying with me! I guess I'll know better after a few more shut downs. But, in answer to your last question - it's looking like Explorer has been permanently banned from the Close Programs window!!

    At least my system is getting a thorough tuneup!
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I don't think the bootlog.txt can be used as a bible here. As I recall when I monitored this on my own Win98 system the last few lines would vary. "EndTerminate = User" was often the one I would see there.

    Keep in mind that when you reinstall the operating system, most previous updates need to be reinstalled. I'm not sure if Windows update really reports this correctly. You might want to double check by using the Belarc Advisor, which runs a verification tool on the installed updates and provides a clickable link to the appropriate update if it needs to be reinstalled. It only verifies the ones that are already installed though.

    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

    Personally I would only have recommended a reinstall as a last resort. Did your IE version change, or did you have to reinstall that as well? Often there are resulting problems with file version mismatches if the reinstall does not go right.

    Anyway I'm glad to hear you took such steps as to update the video driver, that was a good move and may well have been the culprit.

    You can give us an update in a day or too and we will mark this resolved if you feel all is back in order.

    The "low resources" issue can have a variety of causes; it doesn't usually point to memory, but to an area set aside for handling graphics and user related functions. Some programs can cause this and also failure to reboot, which should be done once a day.

    Here is a link explaining the "resources" vs "memory" issue.

    http://www.pcnineoneone.com/howto/resources1.html

    In Win98 I like to keep a shortcut to the Resource Meter loading at startup from the Startup folder. This allows taskbar montoring of the values.
     
  14. mercy

    mercy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    First, I have to thank you - you've given me quite an education about this computer and I really appreciate all the time and effort you've put into helping me!

    OK, so I won't worry about the bootlog thing for now. Moving right along, no one had ever told me that if you reinstalled Windows you would have to reinstall the updates and, you're right - Windows update gives no clue as to this. I ran Belarc and, sure enough, I had to reinstall many of my updates. There are two updates I'm confused about. One is Q823559 which Belarc keeps telling me to reinstall. I've reinstalled it and it shows up in Add/Remove Programs as an installed update. I also checked System Information and the Registry and they both show it present so I can't understand why Belarc wouldn't be picking it up. The other update Belarc tells me to reinstall is UPD269601 but I've searched all of MS and I cannot find it anywhere.

    You asked me about IE6 and I'm happy to say that it survived the Windows reinstall without a scratch, which is a good thing because I don't need any new problems!

    I found the article about resources very informative. I had completely the wrong concept as to what this error message meant. I had never used the Resource Meter, actually I hadn't even installed it but I think this might really help to narrow down the source of the low resources problem. Speaking of problems, I'm STILL getting the Explorer error message when I shut down (it is sooo annoying!).
     
  15. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Interesting you should mention about Q823559, I've reinstalled the XP version of that a couple of times too, I believe at Belarc's behest. On my Win98 system I must confess I'm totally lax about updates since I'm rarely online with it and use Opera7 as my browser when I am.

    I hope you keep the Security patches in a separate folder for convenient reinstall witout downloading, that is what I've come to do.

    Also I'm remiss for not warning you to install http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=811630 early on, before any IE cumulative updates, if you have installed those. Failure to do so may result in loss of functionality of Windows Troubleshooters. There may be a workaround though if you are having problems.

    I don't think we've tried any "clean boot" troubleshooting for the shutdown error. Have you run msconfig and tried booting and shutting down with the startup group completely disabled. You may have to do this a couple of times for a proper test. You can also load a standard VGA driver using the option on the "Advanced" tab.

    Does the shutdown problem occur even if you do not first go online?

    There is more on "clean boot" troubleshooting here, it looks more intimidating than it is:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;192926

    You're certainly welcome for the help and we'll keep plugging away at the remaining problems as long as you want.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/222536

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice