1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: No internet access, gotta be their fault?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by twlunn, Dec 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. twlunn

    twlunn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    My setup: desktop pc with hardwired router and dsl modem, wireless to laptop computer.

    Have powered off both modem and router for 3 minutes.

    Fujitsu speedport modem withVerizon dsl

    Linksys wrt54gs V1, running dd-wrt V2410205_VINT
    WRT54 has solid power light, WLAN LED on and steady, LAN LED lit for my only connection.
    Internet light on and steady.

    Reset dd-wrt to factory defaults.
    Can access dd-wrt control panel.
    Can ping router: 4 sent, 4 received,) % lost.
    Did ipconfig /release & renew

    Have checked all cables for tight connections.

    Device manager says Ethernet controller working properly

    Have good Local area connection, speed 100 Mbps

    Can access folders on wireless laptop from server desktop pc, can access files on pc from laptop.

    Outlook cant connect to server, cant update antivirus defs.

    My problem has to be Verizon, right?

    Many thanks, T.
     
  2. fgdn17

    fgdn17

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    does your routers status page show your getting an ip from verizon???
     
  3. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Connect directly to the modem to rule out a router problem. You'll need to power cycle the modem and renew the IP address on the computer.
     
  4. twlunn

    twlunn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    fdgn: yes

    Just got done doing this, no luck....

    I'm on hold now with verizon doing line test
     
  5. fgdn17

    fgdn17

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    if your getting an ip address from them you may want to download this on a friends machine, place on a thumb drive and run on your xp machines...

    http://majorgeeks.com/download4372.html

    Good Luck
     
  6. twlunn

    twlunn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    fgdn: Yes have ran that in the past.

    Problem is solved though.

    Ver. tech had me shut down pc, power off modem and router, disco modem from phone jack.

    Then after 5 min reverse above procedure.

    Said that renewed ip addy???...but it's working.

    thanks to all for some help,T
     
  7. fgdn17

    fgdn17

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    sounds like they weren't renewing the IP correctly....!!!

    glad your up and working...remember that procedure for future reference when they may fail you again...LOL...just teasing...
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/781868

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice