1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: No internet, No Local Area Connection!!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by katastrophic, Aug 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. katastrophic

    katastrophic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    I am having problems connecting to internet. In the Network Connection window there is no Local Area Connection icon. I have two computers and one laptop. My laptop can connect to my SSID but it keeps saying Unidentified and I cannot surf the web what so ever. This is really frusterating! Help. I am on a friend's computer and I have been searching many threads and I cannot fix my problem yet. I use DSL.

    My laptop is windows vista and it has only SP1. I tried to upgrade to SP2, but It failed because no internet connection :O
    I recently restored my laptop to an earlier restore point because It had the Blue Screen of Death :(


    Thanks, please ask more questions if I am not clear. ^^
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    "My laptop can connect to my SSID but it keeps saying Unidentified "

    EDIT: delete the network from your list and reconnect to it.

    To delete it, go to Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Centre > Left side click Manage Wireless Networks.
     
  3. katastrophic

    katastrophic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    I deleted it and when I tried to connect to my wireless connection.
    It says "Windows cannot connect."
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Download and run this Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector, click the Networks link on the upper left and paste a screen shot of that screen here. Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework. For machines with no Internet connection, download this NET Framework 3.5 Full Package on another machine and transfer it with removable media to the problem machine.


    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.


    Let's see this as well.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. katastrophic

    katastrophic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    My laptop is the one not having INTERNET. And I have to download SP2. I only have SP1 installed and I think that is the problem why I cannot connect to my wireless connection :/
     
  6. SeishiNui

    SeishiNui

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    have you tried doing what JohnWill has posted? it is better to have something to look into than just based everything from what you were saying.. it would be easier that way..

    in the case of the "unidentified" thing in Vista, I also experienced it.. though the first time I encountered it, Vista asked me whether the wireless connection would be Home, Office, or Public.. when I ignored it, I got that unidentified.. deleting the network from the list gave me that scene again where Vista asked me, I picked Home and from then on it's smooth..

    EDIT: the network became "unidentified" even I selected Home before randomly, what I did then was enable the WCN 2.0 support, my router has it, generated a key, and entered it on Vista.. and there, problem solved for me, no more "unidentified" thing..
     
  7. katastrophic

    katastrophic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    After I enter IPCONGI /ALL into CMD, I get these results:


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\katastrophic>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : xine-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-4D-1C-BB-90
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-16-40-C8-19
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{D0988A5D-7F67-43E4-8635-F3E064A03
    BA1}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{BF915CC9-97A0-4700-BA18-0AB31D1F1
    4E2}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\katastrophic
     
  8. SeishiNui

    SeishiNui

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Your wireless adapter is disconnected.. Please retry this when you have tried connecting to the SSID.. also, include the Xirrus screenshot.. if you need to download it at some place else, please do so.. this to know that you can detect the SSID..

    and please state the SSID along with the Xirrus screenshot..
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Vista with SP1 has no problem connecting to wireless connections, that is not the issue. Please post the information I asked for from the failing machine.
     
  10. katastrophic

    katastrophic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    28
  11. katastrophic

    katastrophic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    My other computers has internet connection except my vista LAPTOP!
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Does a wired connection to the computer work? If so, please do the following.

    Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network again. Here's How to Remove Stored Wireless Network Profiles for XP, Vista, and Windows 7



    If a wired connection does not work, then we need to do this and remove the stored wireless profiles.




    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  13. katastrophic

    katastrophic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Okay, I tried the TCP/IP stack repair options. Yet it still says 'Unidentified' forever and won't connect. I don't know what seems to be the problem. Shall I do a full system restore to factory settings? Thanks :D
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Does a wired connection work?
     
  15. katastrophic

    katastrophic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    28
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/942669